We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July visit”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sherwood Inn features seasonal menus rooted in Classic American fare. Sherwood Classic items such as the Yankee Pot Roast and Baked Scrod Christopher are available year round, while our chefs change other seasonal entree selections based on the market availability of the freshest seafood, finest steaks and chops, and freshest locally grown produce. The menu often showcases several food and beverage options which are produced in New York State. A wide selection of Finger Lakes wine appear on our Wine Spectator Magazine award winning wine list.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“July visit”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The service, ambience and view were great. We ate in the Tavern side, which is more casual atmosphere and supposedly the same food. I was disappointed in the food overall, it was average. I had a $30 steak which was tough and not very flavorful. First course of lettuce wedge and French onion soup were average. I would say the lake and sidewalk views were worth it, and the staff took excellent care of us, very kind and classy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnsered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    158
    52
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved dining on the porch overlooking the lake. Dinner was excellent and service was superior. The menu offered a lot of options for both food and price range.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ncarr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
301 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great all-around American restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beautiful and historic inn on the main street of Skaeateles. We were seated on the screened-in front porch facing the lake. Despite street noise, this was a great setting with a cool breeze coming off the lake. Menu had a lot of variety and almost everything was really great. Both varieties of bread served were excellent. The food was well-prepared with the exception of the steaks which surprised me since prior reviews mentioned how well the steaks were prepared. The strip steak ordered medium-rare was actually rare.
Service was super-friendly.
Overall, this place does a great job.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We always eat on the Pub side and have consistently had wonderful waitresses. The food is always very good. On this visit, I had one small issue with my filet being med-well, instead of med-rare. The waitress noticed after my first bite and quickly asked if I wanted a new one. Because the rest of my family was already happily eating and the filet was still quite good, I declined. At the end of our meal, she graciously comped our desserts. It was a nice, professional touch. We'll be back again and again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What did you say??”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Average food, nice setting across from the lake but low ceiling on the porch and a large dinner party in the main room right next to us made dinner conversation difficult.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jane646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing