We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old comfy style, attentive waitress, tasty food”
Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sherwood Inn features seasonal menus rooted in Classic American fare. Sherwood Classic items such as the Yankee Pot Roast and Baked Scrod Christopher are available year round, while our chefs change other seasonal entree selections based on the market availability of the freshest seafood, finest steaks and chops, and freshest locally grown produce. The menu often showcases several food and beverage options which are produced in New York State. A wide selection of Finger Lakes wine appear on our Wine Spectator Magazine award winning wine list.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
359 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“old comfy style, attentive waitress, tasty food”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Have been to this iconic bistro on the stage coach trail on rt 20, many times. The bar was packed at 6pm, so we ate in the dining room, with the luxury of both the pub and dining room menu...tried the house stout-very tasty....bratwurst with german potato salad , red cabbage was delicious , but I dare stay reserved in the amount of side portion receiveid with about a 4oz link...chicken sand wich /fries, seafood stew in red sauce. The stew should have a starch accompanied rather being an ala carte add on sale. We dessert"ed" with decadence chocolate cake, gingerbread pudding, hot fudge sundae...$104 for three of us without tip...the waitress was friendly and attentive...by 7:30 the dining room + bar+ parking lot were packed..get there early!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pierogyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    158
    52
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Charming place to eat”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had thanksgiving dinner here so it was crowded, but we were seated right at our reservation time. We were impressed with the staff as our waitress was very knowledgeable about the drinks/ wine selection. The food was great. Also noticed that a lot of locals were here with family for thanksgiving, which speaks volumes about the restaurant. If you're in skateateles, you should be visiting the sherwood dining room for lunch/ dinner/ or drinks. No excuses.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjtjtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice view of the lake to boot”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We ate there right before Thanksgiving. The food was marvelous. I had a warm turkey sandwich served on local-made "stretch" bread and a wedge salad. I can't remember what my wife had, except that I know she liked it. I splurged on some hot apple cider made by one of the local orchards. It was terrific too. The prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort Food at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely historical Hotel with Restaurant providing fantastic views of the lake. Walking distance to all ammenities. It offers good food at reasonable prices. I liked the Pot Roast and the view to the Lake.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Robin Hood and Friar Tuck eat here.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I could live off their menu for months. This restaurant/chef has C O N S I S T E N C Y. Over the past 17 years I have eaten/stayed here once yearly and the food n e v e r disappoints. Their specials are seasonally appopriate. Last year, squash gnocci with seasonal veg; this year root veg/ orzo pasta dish. Maryland-style crab cakes are round, plump, crispy on top, soft on the sides, with wilted spinach on an aioli bed. I had their Yankee pot roast... a meal that would suit Friar Tuck or even a more svelte Robin Hood. Sherwood salad with / without chicken, perfectly presented. Keen staff. One dessert was referred to as soft pastry stuffed with cranberries etc, but wound up being a disappointing slab of pie-shaped crust /dough that was very heavy.
Wine selection both local, regional, and international, and a decent selection of each. Fairly priced. Warm ambiance. Old stagecoach inn feel. Fireplaces in the hotel lobby. Some nights a long wait, but there's a reason... it is a fabulous place to eat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TOYCARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing