We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel, Great Location”
Review of Birds Nest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birds Nest Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Reviewed January 9, 2007

This was a nice mom-and-pop type motel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and the property was well-kept. We did not get a chance to swim in the pool. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank wheatman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Birds Nest Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2006

We have been in to Skaneateles many times and always stay at the Birds Nest. The staff is always very helpful and the prices are very resonable compared to many others in town. "Come on, wireless internet for free, coffee, continental breakfast and a friendly dog to greet you." I do not know why someone would not stay at the Birds Nest. We have stayed there 9 or 10 times and the rooms are very clean. Give them a tried a great value.

Thank you
Stacy Williams

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kkyykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

We were in Skaneateles in July 2006 and stopped by The Bird's Nest looking for a room. They had a vacancy for a junior suite for $79. It was a large clean pleasant room. It had everything we needed and we would gladly stop there again. It was great value.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank misspatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
pa
12
Reviewed November 28, 2005

Last year I booked reservations at the Bird's Nest in Skaneateles, NY over 2 months in advance. I reconfirmed the reservations 2 weeks prior to our arrival. Would you believe they changed our reservations to the crappy little "bungalows" in the front, not what I reserved. They never called to tell us they were switching us. We did not know until we arrived. I said never again would I stay there. But unfortunately as fate would have it, I needed to stay there again this year. Would you believe they pulled the same crap on me. I confirmed 6 days before arrival, and they did the room switch AGAIN! Even though they made the switch/mistake, they said they would still need to charge me for the room, because they have a 7 day cancellation policy. Their mistake and I have to pay? DON'T GO THERE! I know I won't ever again!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Auburn N.Y.
15
Reviewed October 30, 2005

We walked into the jacuzzi room which was $167.00 and it was absolutely horrendous!!! The smell of mildew was terrible and the jacuzzi lokked like it was from the stone age. We requested a refund and they complied with no argument.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chester Valley, PA
18
Reviewed March 27, 2005

We justed stayed at the Bird's Nest for the NCAA Basketball Tournament at the Carrier Dome on March 24-28, 2005 and just loved the place. We found the Bird's Nest thru the Syracuse Convention & Visitors Bureau and loved staying in the Skaneateles. Before we went I read the reviews about the Bird's Nest on TripAdvisor website and I am happy to report the bathrooms do have outlets and the owner was not aware of the posting stating his rooms did not have outlets in the bathrooms. We will be coming back this summer to enjoy Skaneateles Lake and the local wine trails.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lansdale, PA
16
Reviewed September 26, 2004

Excellent, The only motel that allows animals. We would stay there even if they did not. Right in the heart of things. Fairly priced for the area. Pleasant helpful staff. Faldo the owners pet is a must to see. We have stayed there several times as well as friends of ours who recommended Birds Nest.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
3.8 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
721 reviews
8.5 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.5 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
3.3 mi away
Skaneateles Inn on 20
Skaneateles Inn on 20
#2 of 7 in Auburn
68 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Motel

Address: 1601 US Route 20, Skaneateles, NY 13152-8870
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Hotel Class:2 star — Birds Nest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lakeside town of Skaneateles, the Birds Nest offers you 31 rooms and suites on a quiet country setting. All rooms and suites are non-smoking. The standard rooms are 400 square feet and all feature high speed internet, Climate control heating and cooling, flat screen cable television, phone and private bath. The suites are 600 square feet and addition to the room amenities they also include coffee and tea service, full bath, microwave and refrigerator. They are great for families and the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Birds Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird`s Nest Hotel Skaneateles
The Birds Nest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing