We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware!!! Liars and Cheats!”
Review of Birds Nest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birds Nest Motel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware!!! Liars and Cheats!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I made reservations five months in advance for five rooms from Friday to Monday to attend a family wedding. I was never sent a confirmation, but my credit card was charged $709 to hold the rooms, I suppose, but no one informed me of this! A few days before the event, two of the folks I reserved rooms for needed to arrive a day later, so they called the owner directly. Long story short, the owner said that the reservations were for Friday through Tuesday and he was not reimbursing us for the $709 charge. Even though he was able to rent out the rooms, I was out my money. Skanaeteles is a great little town, but I recommend that you stay anywhere but here. Bob Evans, the owner, is a crooked businessman who took my money and then did this same thing to other folks who were also in town for the same wedding.

Room Tip: Book a room at one of the inns in the center of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    14
    18
    24
See reviews for
24
27
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here at last minute on way through finger lake region. Stayed in a room with a jacuzzi at the back. Staff very helpful and friendly with loads of tips for dinner in town. Breakfast was ok - bagels and muffins really.

Room was quite clean though dont look too hard behind the beds... Rooms could probably do with a deep clean. Coffee machine in room hadnt been emptied between uses.

Quite good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Wasn't horrible, definitely seen better. Close to town, but smelled a little musty. The front desk staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 6Cal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skaneateles hotels

Osterville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Excellent place and very friendly staff. Spacious and very clean rooms with air conditioning and very cozy. Not noisy at all as last year when we stayed at the holiday inn at Auburn it was very noisy and this was a nice change. They have a nice pool here too and the doggy at the bird's nest is very friendly and likes to play ball. They have a food and ice cream place right next door which is convenient. Definitely coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We met friends from Ohio, and met up with friends from Skaneateles, for a bike ride in the area. The Birds Nest provided a great place to stay at a reasonable price (prices for places to stay in Skaneateles are generally expensive). The pool was clean and very convenient after the bike ride, and there is an ice cream stand right next door. The owner is a fine gentleman with a large friendly dog. We can recommend this motel as a good place to stay. Not luxurious or fancy, but plain and clean and good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hkslocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This motel was recommended for it's location which did not disappoint us but everything else did. Rooms appeared clean but at a closer look were dusty, dirty, smelled like wet dog and felt unhealthy. By our 2nd night we worried about bed bugs. Didn't find any but the fact that we turned the light on to search was totally unacceptable. Absolutely NO hot water either morning. Also unacceptable! Until this hotel is updated and cleaned pass it up.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Whitejib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed for Father's Day weekend. Staff and owner very friendly; everything was immaculate and in perfect condition with attention to every detail. Quaint family motel set off the main road and quiet, but right outside the village of Skaneateles....large room, queen bed, refrigerator, 2 comfortable chairs and table in room, clean carpets, ..lawn chairs and tables outside, pool, lots of parking. Everyone, including other guests were friendly...and there is an outlet in the bathroom. Large yard in back for pet area and there's a large front yard. Owner's dog (lab) was so friendly. Coffee and danishes and bagels til almost noon. Great room at a great price... ice cream shop (homemade) next door (on other side of tree row)...Motel is in pristine condition and a staff that can't be beat. There are also suites with hot tubs in the annex, which is adjacent to the original motel. Will stay there again and would highly recommend--they already have a very loyal following.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueandDave1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
3.7 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
697 reviews
2.5 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
89 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
3.3 mi away
Skaneateles Inn on 20
Skaneateles Inn on 20
#2 of 7 in Auburn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Motel

Property: Birds Nest Motel
Address: 1601 US Route 20, Skaneateles, NY 13152-8870
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Hotel Class:2 star — Birds Nest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lakeside town of Skaneateles, the Birds Nest offers you 31 rooms and suites on a quiet country setting. All rooms and suites are non-smoking. The standard rooms are 400 square feet and all feature high speed internet, Climate control heating and cooling, flat screen cable television, phone and private bath. The suites are 600 square feet and addition to the room amenities they also include coffee and tea service, full bath, microwave and refrigerator. They are great for families and the business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Birds Nest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bird`s Nest Hotel Skaneateles
The Birds Nest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing