We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay 8/18/13 claire and jim”
Review of Skaneateles Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skaneateles Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

very nice clean like a 5 star suite price is 100$ less than anything other comparable look forward to return nice setting close to town about 10 min. nice towels beds large rooms microwave ref. sink plates real cups for coffee 60 channels large flat screen cd mp3 player many other perks.

Room Tip: rear is quieter very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 729 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

For a family get-together we needed accommodations for 10 adults. It's not that easy to find in the Finger Lakes area or in NY for that matter. A lot of vacation rental houses require at least one weeks' stay, but we only wanted 2-3 nights. Prices range from high to outrageous. So we were pleased when we found the Skaneateles Suites which is just outside of town on Rt 20 (Genesee St). We rented the main house (8 people) and bungalow #1 (2 people).

The house was very clean and free of dust and bugs. Furniture was new and comfortable, unlike some older rental houses where you get creaky, dusty old sofas and tables. The master bedroom was on the main floor and had a jetted tub in the bedroom and a separate bathroom with a standup shower. The other 3 bedrooms were up the staircase on the 2nd floor, and they shared a smallish bathroom with a shower.

The kitchen was ok but not quite right for preparing food for a large crowd. There were some pots, pans, and utensils but fortunately we brought our own larger cooking gear. We used the outdoor propane gas grill on two of the three nights. There were inexpensive dishes and flatware that we had to keep rewashing as there weren't quite enough. We suggest adding some place settings for larger families. The cabinet space was adequate although we ended up piling a lot of food and beverages on the floor. We filled the fridge pretty quickly - it's normal-size, not extra-large. The table wasn't large enough to seat everyone so most meals were eaten on our laps in the sitting area (there are extra folding chairs in the closet). There were a few chairs and a small table on the front porch but not on the deck.

We didn't use the TV but the screen was large so I'm sure it's fine. There was a handy channel guide. Wifi didn't work - we reported that on several occasions and they said "the guy was working on it" but it was spotty and intermittent during our whole stay.

The housekeepers were friendly and helpful but we didn't need too much service as we cleaned up after ourselves after every meal. They changed out towels and touched up the bathrooms.

Moving on to the bungalow - it was larger than a standard hotel room but not huge. There was a queen-size bed and a sofa that could be pulled out as a sleeper. The kitchenette had a microwave, small fridge, and sink. A sliding door led out to a patio. The heater/AC was one of those floor units seen in (cheaper) motels and was noisy cycling off and on. Because the weather changed abruptly from hot to cool while we were there, we ended up using both A/C and heat. The tub was jetted but not large like the one in the house - just a rectangular plain bathtub/shower. Wifi didn't work consistently in the bungalow either, as noted above.

Other nice touches - a supply of free beverages including bottled water, orange juice, and regular and diet Coke cans. There were some Nutri-Grain bars, instant oatmeal cups, Cheez-Its, and Oreos. We put the washer/dryer in the house to use - quite handy to be able to throw in some wash while on vacation and detergent and supplies were free. There's some yard space for kids to run around or to throw a Frisbee around.

Downsides - traffic noise on Rt 20. The house and bungalows sit right on the main road so cars and trucks zip by all day and night. Parking for the main house was a little tight although in front of each bungalow you can fit 2 cars. There's no walking trail, but one morning we cut through the back yard and took a short walk on N Broadway which is a country road without much traffic. You can see a dairy farm and some goats across the street.

Recommended? Yes, definitely. I wouldn't say it's a grand bargain but it's a good value and a cut above other vacation rentals we've had in NY and New England over the years. You can research the town of Skaneateles on other sites to see if it's your cup of tea. Or you might stay here and drive over to Auburn (5 miles). We also took a hike in Millard Fillmore state park, about 25 miles away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a little bit out of town. When traveling we usually stay closer to the water, but since we had our dog with us this was where we stayed and I am so glad. It was terrific! I definitely will stay here again, it is a rare find. The rooms are big with a good sized kitchenette and sliders to a nice brick patio-great for going out with the dog. Lots of land to walk around, very peaceful area. Some snacks were provided, even 1/2 and 1/2 for the coffee-how nice!! It was super clean with nice linens. Wifi worked great, staff was terrific. It is just a short drive to the village, which is adorable. Eat at Doug's Fish Fry, great food and prices.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NYBosox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very nice hotel on the main drag, just outside Skaneateles proper. I'm not sure I've ever been in a cleaner place. Room was big and well-equipped for our stay, with snacks (which are a GREAT touch), lots of towels, sheets, etc. They were great about setting up a feather-free room. It was pouring outside, so we didn't get to use the nice little patio space behind our bungalow but I'm sure it would have been a lovely place for coffee. There's a great diner up the road (Hilltop) which flipped some great flapjacks and bacon. We only stayed one night but would happily stay again and explore the lovely Fingerlakes area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice stay! The location was perfect and the rooms were clean, spacious, and just what we were looking for! Checking in after "regular" hours was not a problem, as the key was left for us with a lovely welcome letter.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading the good reviews. Room was clean and large enough for the 3 of us. However, the toilet tile groutings in the bath area was brown andlooks dirty. Apart from that, we have no complaints.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank ShiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just stayed overnight at the Skaneateles Suites. It was a lovely little bungalow for a really reasonable price. The place was clean, and all the snacks and drinks left in the refrigerator were a welcome bonus. It is a bit out of town, but about a 5-minute drive away, and the grounds are very spacious, even including a little patio with Adirondack chairs. Loved the stereo playing when we entered the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
2.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
1.2 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
18.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skaneateles Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaneateles Suites

Address: 4114 E Genesee Street Rd, 2 miles West of the Village on Rt 20, Skaneateles, NY 13021-8209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range: $110 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skaneateles Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Collection of Places to Stay in Skaneateles, Finger Lakes Region of Central New York 13152 Nightly, Monthly, Extended Stay Furnished Hotel Rooms, Suites, Apartments, Condos, Houses.... Be careful you know which property you are reserving... we have multiple locations and addresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Skaneateles Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaneateles Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing