We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
310
107
60
48
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
310
107
60
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxation room aqua terrace locker room hot tub club room french countryside monet painting main building foot bath turn down service outdoor jacuzzi exercise classes dining room monet's garden risotto the cottages koi pond
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok- please don't role your eyes at the title until you've experienced this wonderful resort. It truly stands on it's own. It's within easy walking distance to downtown Skaneateles, but you don't have to leave the resort to truly relax. All rooms overlook a tranquil coy pond and nature area that takes you to Italy by just looking out the window. The bar has a wonderful atmosphere and the restaurant has outside dining that keeps you in the Tuscan mode. We ate several meals on the "breezeway"- that was extremely relaxing and cool for hot weather. The room was VERY spacious and first class. One note- the room has a safe, but it was not bolted down. So yes, someone could actually take the whole safe and your stuff. When asked about it, they simply said they had never had a safe stolen. Seems they should just bolt them in...the bolts are actually in the safe...so the hardware is there. As stated, the hotel is located within easy walking distance of downtown Skaneateles- we walked into town every evening for dinner...very easy and very safe. The only SLIGHT negative I would comment on is the staff. They were very nice and always around, but for a $600/night room, they didn't "bend over backwards" for the guests. I'm sure they would do most things to accommodate you, but they just didn't take the initiative to do so. I don't want this to be much of a negative, just something that I think the staff should hear. Examples: We needed a match for a birthday cake candle...one little bitty candle. Now, they do have a "no open flame" policy, which is fine. But a single birthday candle? Anyway, they didn't have a match and did nothing to help in our search. One other example would be the waters in the room. They should have been replenished every day (especially on 90 degree days)- but we needed to ask for waters everyday after the first day. They were more than happy to get them- but you'd think after the first day, they would make sure the waters were replenished going forward. Once again, not huge deals...just notes to help them get to that "premier" level that they are soooo close to achieving. Oh, once last note. There was a wedding at the facility Saturday night. Many people knew each other and there were A LOT of people there for the wedding- BUT, other than them asking us to stay away from the bridge in the center area for a 1/2 hour during the ceremony, you would have never known the wedding was there. They were very open about the ceremony and the reception, which ended precisely at 10 for the comfort of other patrons, but it didn't matter- it was quiet and they did a great job handling it. I think they do quite a few, so they know what they are doing. Great location, great atmosphere, great food, great vacation. HIGHLY recommend. Spa is very nice too.

Room Tip: I believe they are all VERY good.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yodaman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted that you can highly recommend Mirbeau Inn & Spa of Skaneateles in your recent review. We take to heart your comments concerning the little things that separate a merely good experience and a great one and thank you for not allowing some obvious service gaps from enjoying your stay in our slice of European upstate New York . We look forward to being able to accommodate you again soon, as our wedding season has officially ended and tranquility once again reigns supreme.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Every time we visit Skaneateles we stay at the outstanding Sherwood Inn, but we decided to drive up from the Sherwood and check out the Mirbeau. It was very nice with a classic old world bar, restaurant and delightful outside covered dining area overlooking the fabulous grounds. The young man at the desk was great when we entered to explore and he gave us a short tour and overview of the property. After what we saw we might be ready to give the Mirbeau a visit, just for a change of pace. Nice elegant subdued atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to visit and provide some wonderful commentary about Mirbeau Inn & Spa of Skaneateles. We look forward to having you as a guest to fully enjoy the true Mirbeau experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Mirabeau is stunning. The property is looks like the French Countryside. We stayed in a King Cottage room on the 2nd floor. The view was WOW. The room was beautiful and had a standup balcony and fireplace. The bathroom was large and had a gorgeous tub. We did not take advantage of any spa treatments as our trip was spontaneous and they were booked, not surprisingly. We did utilize the hot tub area several times. Loved having the bar area near by. We enjoyed some local wine. The restaurant food was fantastic. We enjoyed a meat and cheese charcuterie, the Goat Cheese Herb Chicken. Definitely a must if you are in the Finger Lakes

Room Tip: 2nd floor Cottage Rooms have great views
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

"Merci d'être notre invité". We are all delighted that your spontaneity paid off and you were able to enjoy a Mirbeau expereince. Your commentary is so appreciated and we look forward to having you return to again partake in the essence of the French countryside at Mirbeau of Skaneateles NY.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

My husband and I stopped at Mirbeau for lunch - so glad we did!! It's like being in another world! You walk through the doors and are transported to peace and tranquility. Greeted by friendly staff, we were shown to the dining room. It was a warm and sunny day, and we chose to sit on the outside deck to enjoy our lunch. Our server, Molly, fabulous start to finish. The Monet Garden view is beautiful. We had a wonderful lunch - charcuterie to start and then the Mirbeau burger (cooked perfectly) and the grilled shrimp with coconut rice and pistachio encrusted carrots (amazing). Everyone around us was thoroughly enjoying their food and the experience! We inquired about the chefs who prepared our meals - Daniel and Deanna, among others. Our compliments to the chefs! Pricing was not outrageous, especially given the quality ingredients and preparation. Nice selection of choices available on the menu as well. After lunch we spent time walking around the property. Just lovely! What a wonderful afternoon!! Highly recommend a stop here in you are in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

It sounds like a perfect lunch find. Mirbeau Inn & Spa of Skaneateles takes great pride in its ability to provide wonderful experiences from first impressions to stellar customer service and high quality culinary offerings. Thank you for sharing your experience and recognizing the individuals that provided you such enjoyment. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you a tranquil visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Beautiful inn and spa on grounds modeled after Claude Monet's garden at Giverny. Even on a visit on which it poured rain, our spirits were high because the room was beautiful and the spa a delight. We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a cottage with a view of pond
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IthacaGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, General Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Weather is always the wildcard in Skaneateles, however Mirbeau is a perfect sanctuary when its at it worst. We are happy to learn the experience was so fulfilling and we look forward to anther opportunity to provide you a gracious sanctuary and perhaps even a ray of sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews