We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Gateaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2005

Stayed at the Mirbeau for 4 nights this past October and absolutely loved it. We had somewhat dismal weather during our stay but we never minded going back to our room and the resort to relax and wind down. We stayed in one of the cottage rooms on the 2nd floor and we absolutely loved the room. The tons of pillows and the luxurious mattress were great. The resort has such a serene feel to it and will definitely relax you. Loved the rain shower head and the claw foot tub. Another bonus is the free internet access in your room. The view from the room was calming looking out on to a pond with the sound of water cascading down the rocks and the view of the water lilies and flowers all surrounding the pond. Looks like the whole scene jumped out of the Monet painting. The service was excellent. Anything we asked for we received.
We went to dinner one night and although it is very expensive, the food and service were outstanding. My wife has food allergies and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our request even going as far as calling us at home to review our requests.
The spa was also great. We went for a couples massage and once again the staff was great. All the facilities were outstanding from the bathroom to the waiting room. The picture is on the website. Another bonus is that in addition to the gym (exercise studio, weight room and cardiovascular room with an individual TV unit on each machine) you have unlimited use of the sauna and steam room during your stay.
The only complaint that I have is there is supposed to be a valet available for you during your stay but we never knew about one till we left.
Will definitely will be back……also there is a great café/bookstore on town called Creekside.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank G102000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 516 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Longmeadow, MA
115
Reviewed October 24, 2005

A terrible experience...Stay Away from the Finger Lakes Lodging (owned by Mirbeau)!

What a joke...after receiving a reservation confirmation a month earlier for a two queen bed w/ deck in the lodge (Mirbeau was full) my wife, two small boys, and myself arrived to find out that our room was given away and the four of us were asked to stay in a 1 bed/small room overlooking the major thouroughfare. Staff at Mirbeau was unresponsive. Since this was July 4 weekend, we were could only find a hotel in Syracuse with availability. Oh, by the way, staff did not even attempt to help us find suitable accomodations (although a nice hotel in downtown Skaneateles went out of their way to call hotels for us!). Management's follow-up response was to provide a certificate for a one-night midweek stay between November and March...great response for a botched-up Saturday and Sunday night reservation in July! While the Mirbeau seems like a nice hotel...Stay Away from the Finger Lakes Lodging!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2005

I stayed at the Mirbeau Lodge which is located very close to their main Mirbeau Inn & Spa property. I love the lodge. It is newer and decorated in a fun rustic flavor. In this case, the use of the word "rustic" does not apply to a room that is old and worn. These rooms could be featured in any number of design magazines because of their unique and outstanding decor. You must see it. There is a nice private deck on the back of the lodge and it was so nice to sit out there in the evening. A very comfortable bed, a gas log stove, a rocker with throw and on and on.
The staff at the Mirbeau are very friendly and very accomodating. The drive from the Syracuse Airport to the Mirbeau is wonderful because you pass wonderful family owned Apple Orchards all along the way.
I found the rates to be very resonable for the quality and service at this establishment. Try the lodge. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stevewilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

My wife and I went to Skaneateles last weekend for a few days of relaxation. We went based on recommendations from this website and thankfully we were not at all disappointed. Skaneateles is such a great little town that we almost didn't come home, but this review of course in on Mirbeau so I'll get started. Ok so some of the bad reviews about Mirbeau had good points; the rooms are kinda small, not much drawer or closet space, and the restaurant is really expensive (so much so that we didn't even eat there). So if you can live with all that, then read on... The bed was fantastic. I guess it wasn't the same room as the reviewer below me was in. We never slept so well. The bathroom was luxurious with a great soaking tub and a shower big enough for all your friends. I'm a man but even I enjoyed the smell of this place and the shampoos and soaps. The fireplace in the room was great and it warmed up everything nicely. The grounds and building are beautiful and we sat on our patio outside our room sometimes and just enjoyed the peace.
The spa, now that was the best part. It is a really great facility. I cant describe it all but you wont be disappointed. We got a couples massage and let me tell you the girls know what they are doing.
Service was great, the staff is really helpful and seriously they know everything about the area. They seemed truly happy to help.
So my one complaint is.... the TV is too small. We like to get a bottle of wine and watch a movie, but I had a hard time enjoying it because I had to lay there with my glasses on to see that small TV. Or maybe I just had too much wine?

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank loveca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, OH
124
Reviewed October 4, 2005

High expectations quickly diminished upon checking into our room. The room was below average at best. The beds were the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept in. No support/extremely soft and it sunk towards the middle while sleeping. Though the brochure boasts about the "bedding", it, too, was below average quality. Honestly, there was nothing about the room we liked. We travel quite a bit, and admit we are extremely fussy. We usually stay at 4 star hotels for that reason. Mirabeau doesn't even come close. The prices are absurd for the quality and amentities. We felt we were robbed of our $400.00, which was the cost of the room after taxes! We left feeling that Mirabeau is trying to be a 4 star property, but needs to put money and work into their resort. It has a very long way to go. Have no comments regarding service, since we had limited interaction. We purposefully stayed busy outside the resort since the room was so dreary and depressing. We didn't have any spa services, figuring it, too, was overpriced with quality lacking. Still amazed at the price for the quality!! We cannot recommend Mirabeau and will not be back.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2005

The Mirbeau is the most romantic place we have ever stayed, and we have travelled all over the world. We come here every year for our anniversary (we were married in Skaneateles). The restaraunt is AMAZING...it was so lovely to eat outside in the Monet inspired garden and watch the tropical fish in the pond. The rooms are fantastic with every amenity imaginable. A few times we have been upgraded to a room with a balcony...it is wonderful to have breakfast on! We always get very good rates by staying midweek ($165). The staff is a delight. And the spa!!!!!!!!!! This is a very special place, and I look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank meowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2005

Recently returned from Mirbeau Inn and Spa after a two day stay for a honeymoon trip to the Fingerlakes region.

This is truly a paradise! Beautiful grounds, cozy well appointed rooms and service that is to die for. Though only there for two days, the memoried will last. At every turn the staff was there to make sure our stay was everything we hoped for.

We indulged in the "Art of Living" spa service, a truly romantic experience that every couple deserves to experience at least once. Worth every penny and then some! The spa was luxurious, immaculately clean, and probably the most relaxing place we've ever been.

Dinner at the spa was top notch, excellent service, great wine list (if a bit pricey), and scrumptious food. Desert was served with "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate around the desert plates. What a classy place.

I can't recommend this place enough, if you are even considering a stay here do yourself (and your special someone) a favor and book with confidence!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Beachbumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
1.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
369 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles

Address: 851 W Genesee Street Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range: $282 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirbeau Inn & Spa is a 34-room luxury Spa Resort combining the amenities of a boutique country inn, world-class spa and nationally acclaimed fine dining, all with the elegant comforts and residential feel of a wine country estate.The Inn and Spa consists of six buildings clustered around beautifully landscaped ponds and impressionist gardens. The exterior architecture, interior decor and landscape design are reminiscent of an Old World French Country Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirbeau Inn And Spa
Mirbeau Spa Skaneateles
Mirbeau Hotel Skaneateles
Spa Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing