We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and grounds”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Mirbeau for our anniversary in June and fell in love with the hotel. There are so many great things about this hotel, but the best thing would be its people. Everyone we met from the front desk to the grounds keepers were friendly and helpful. We stayed at two other 4-star hotels during our trip and this was the very best among them.

The hotel is a bit pricey, but they offer deals through many of the group discount sites. We got a great deal through Luxury Link and it included breakfast and spa treatments. The breakfast each morning was great and very filling. We loved sitting outside on the veranda and watching the fish in the pond. They do a great job keeping the ponds and grounds well kept.

We stayed in one of the cottage rooms in the 400 building and really loved it there. The room was spacious and I loved the walk-in shower. The soaking tub was nice too, but we never used it. What we really liked about this property was that hotel guests had access to the spa facilities and fitness classes during their whole stay. It was nice to be able to take a fitness class and then relax in the spa afterwards. They have a very nice coed lounge area and outdoor hot tub. My husband loved his deep tissue massage. I wasn't all that impressed with the reflexology treatment I got, but I did like the spa facilities.

If you are in the area to visit the wineries be aware that it will take at least 45 minutes to get to the wineries on Lake Cayuga. For the last few nights of our trip we ended up booking hotels along Lake Seneca to be closer to the wineries, but we wished we could have stayed at Mirbeau Inn. Our experience at Mirbeau was really memorable and we hope to go back.

Room Tip: Room in the cottages will give you more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ml_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We’re very happy that you enjoyed your Mirbeau experiences and were able to take advantage of our Luxury Link package. When you return to visit us again, please feel free to explore the numerous massage options that we offer. We suggest our Vinotherapy Massage; it’s sure to leave you relaxed and refreshed. There is also a local winery to Skaneateles if you prefer not to make the trip to Cayuga Lake. Anyela’s Winery is a wonderful establishment with tasty wines, a beautiful setting and only 15 minutes away from Mirbeau. We look forward to having you again as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    97
    59
    47
    19
See reviews for
45
278
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UPSTATE NEW YORK
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went for special celebration. The staff truly goes out of thier way. As there are about 2 staff members to every guest. The spa is open to the public and they get full use of the facility when they book a treatment. There is no pool and only a 15 person spa which you can only fit if you sit very close together. Needless to say it was a little crowded on a hot July day with hotel and spa guests.The hotel was $850 for 2 nights (weekend). We had to pay another $500 for a couples 50 min massage and dinner. It's a very nice, cute place. The food was good and the wine bar is fun.There really is no reason to stay here if you live within a couple hours because you get to use the best parts for free if you book a treatment unless you want them to set up a bath in your room for $40!

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms are bad. Just dark and be sure to close curtains and turn off li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDDHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very honored that you chose to stay with us for your special celebration and that we exceeded your expectations in our service to you as well as our facilities and dining. As it seems that you live within a few hours from us, we agree that you would enjoy a Day Spa trip at a lesser price. If you do wish to get away for the night, we would recommend you inquire about mid-week pricing as a July weekend is peak season for us. Thank you again and we hope to have you in the future as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We live just outside of Syracuse, NY and so we have had the opportunity to stay at the Mirbeau (just a short 35 minutes away) for several much needed overnight getaways. We have said each time that the Mirbeau combined with a wine tour in the beautiful fingerlake region is up there with most cross-country trips to Sonoma or Napa Valley. And right in our own backyard! The Inn is gorgeous. The rooms are truly the nicest we have experienced - up there with the rooms at a Sandals resort. They have the most comfortable beds ever!

The wine bar is very nice. The food however is just ok given the price. We prefer to eat at Rosalee's right next door (great Italian food). As for the spa, it is the nicest we've seen based on the ambiance and amentities. That said, the massages my husband and I have experienced on several occassions are mediocre. Needless to say we go for the overall spa experience (aqua terrace, relaxation room, etc.).

As far as romance, down time, relaxation, and overall feeling like you've really escaped your normal routine, I would highly recommend the Mirbeau.

Room Tip: Stay out of the main building in the villas if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your Mirbeau experiences and excited to know that we’ll be able to have you as our guest again. We update our menus on a regular basis (both in the Wine Bar and in the Dining Room) and encourage you to ask “What’s new?” when you return. Also, if you’re not already aware, you may request a certain massage therapist for your treatments if you find that special connection that many of our guests do. We understand that our guests have different expectations when it comes to their treatments and want to ensure the best possible experience for everyone. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
324 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Before I review the hotel let me say that if you want a 4 star hotel in the finger lakes you either have to stay here or at Geneva on the Lake which I saw and is equally as nice. This hotel has the spa and the nicer town.Go to Square in town for dinner. First the posatives.The hotel is built around a beautiful garden that evokes Monet's garden at Giverny.In that it succeds. The rooms are large clean and quite nicely done except for lighting. The spa treatments were great. Where the problem is is the poor service. From the moment you check in to when you leave there is a sense that no one knows what is going on like a rudderless ship. This explains some of the previous bad reviews. For the high prices charged they should do a much better job. Breakfasts were great. Stay with the continental it is more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our Resort facilities and Spa Services. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible guest experience to our guests and apologize that we fell short during your stay. We continually train our staff to exceed expectations in service. We hope that you will return again as our guests so that we may serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I travel all over the world for business and have stayed in the best hotels in the world. This ranks right up there with the best. The spa is fantastic, the food is incredible and the resort is priced right. The town of Skaneateles is so cute and quaint. A great, relaxing get away. Ask for a room on the first floor with a walk out patio.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your experiences with us in not only our inn but our restaurants and spa as well. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I've stayed at the hotel and I've taken day trips to the spa. It is a wonderful experience. Not cheap, but it's worth it. Just a tip: in the winter months go during the week and in the summer months go during the weekend - less people and you'll feel like you own the place. I've also eaten at the restaurant between spa appointments and it was great on several occasions.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DHG309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate that you’ve visited us for all types of experiences and in all seasons. We’re also happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed all areas of our resort! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you again soon as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

How the Mirbeau Inn and Spa isn't # 1 on the hotels for Skaneateles is very surprising to me. I've stayed in this hotel 2x and they never disappoint. The food in the on site dinning room is off the charts and the rooms are so PLUSH, you feel like a celebrity. Each room has this beautiful comfy bed with a Gas Fireplace and HUGE GORGEOUS Bathroom wtih claw foot tubs and big relaxing showers. Every creature comfort is provided and the staff is the nicest. One of the my most FAVORITE hotels to stay at when I am in town! I've always been here for business but I would TOTALLY come here as a couple's retreat. Must stay here if you can!

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa, but the rooms dont lack anything the Villas Have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your experiences at Mirbeau Inn & Spa. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and to give them the best possible service in all areas of our resort. Thank you for letting us know we’ve succeeded for you. We hope to see you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
1.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
6.1 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.8 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles

Property: Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Address: 851 W Genesee Street Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirbeau Inn & Spa is a 34-room luxury Spa Resort combining the amenities of a boutique country inn, world-class spa and nationally acclaimed fine dining, all with the elegant comforts and residential feel of a wine country estate.The Inn and Spa consists of six buildings clustered around beautifully landscaped ponds and impressionist gardens. The exterior architecture, interior decor and landscape design are reminiscent of an Old World French Country Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirbeau Inn And Spa
Mirbeau Spa Skaneateles
Mirbeau Hotel Skaneateles
Spa Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing