We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great girlfriend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great girlfriend getaway”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have enjoyed Mirbeau once in the past for massages and decided on an overnight at the hotel for a girlfrind getaway.

The front desk service was beyond reproach, warm and efficient. Though we requested an early check-in, one was not available. We received a phone call at 3pm notifying us that our room was ready. In the meantime the facilities of the spa were available to us, including workout room, jacuzzi spa, and post massage quiet room. Instead we were in town walking around. The front desk advised us on other possibilities for dinner, in addition to their own restaurant and suggested we visit a new winery just up the lake which we DID really enjoy (Anyela's).

We had booked a cottage room on the ground level as suggested by a previous reviewer and this room did not disappoint, with one exception. BTW, the room looked EXACTLY the same as the online photo. Certainly a rarity in hotel advertising. The exception to room quality was the extremely mooshy, too soft mattress. I don't object to pillow top mattresses in general, but this mattress was like a marshmellow even below the pillowtop. If you require a firmer mattress for a good night's sleep, be forewarned. When sitting on the bed, you make a huge dent, a bad sign.
Later in the afternoon we really enjoyed the courtyard jacuzzi spa. An attendant was wandering around trying to get all the jets operating so people didn't have to clump up to be near the operational jets. The outdoor wall fireplace was an incredibly nice touch, and I would return again just for this experience.
The next morning I used the gym for an hour workout session. The gym was really clean, the machines clean and in good repair, and ice water, fresh fruit on hand. This room is on the small side, but very functional with good range of equipment for any gym rat.
My friend took in a 9:00 stretching class and found the constant conversation by the locals unnerving, as well as the non stretching type music. She would not take this class again.
As other reviewers have mentioned this is not an inexpensive place to stay. It would be nice if the rates were lower which would allow a more frequent use of this fine place as a staycation. When the price gets to be up around the price of a mini cruise with everything inclusive, you really have to wonder at the value. Thus my choice of "Poor" in the value category.

Room Tip: Ground level cottage is a charming choice, some with private terraces which would be especially nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missalonghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your review! We are so happy to that you’ve turned your Day Spa experience into an overnight one. We’re also happy that you were able to take advantage of the lovely village of Skaneateles and Anyela’s Winery. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful location.
In regards to your comment about our mattresses, we apologize if you did not enjoy them. They are specially made for us with individually pocketed coils to give the best support across the bed without disturbing a possible sleeping partner. The next time you stay with us, we suggest asking Reservations to make a note to remove the mattress pad. This will decrease the softness of the bed for you.
When you return for a Spa Day, please remember that the facilities you enjoyed (the Aqua Terrace, Gym and classes) are also open to Day Spa guests as well as overnight. We have reviewed your comments about our Stretching Class with our staff in order to provide the best guest experience in the future and have will put in place any changes that we see necessary.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again at Mirbeau!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    97
    59
    47
    19
See reviews for
45
278
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I use other people's tripadvisor reviews all the time, and finally felt compelled to write a review of my own. 11/11/11 was our 22nd wedding anniversary, so this getaway had to be special, but other commitments kept it short and close (1.5 hrs) to home. I was inspired to look into booking a night at Mirbeau. The glowing tripadvisor reviews convinced me, and they were right on! From the moment we arrived at Mirbeau we felt pampered and special. Every single staff member had a smile and an eagerness to make our anniversary memorable. The hostess at breakfast blew us away when she knew our room number just by looking at us (we never told her our name).

The hotel: lobby, room, bathroom, spa, and especially the Monet garden are absolutely beautiful. I must have taken 20 photos of the garden (bear in mind, this is NOVEMBER in NY!).

We had a club room, with the living room area. We never used the living room area, neither did the guests in the other two rooms. A bottle of champaigne on ice greeted us in our room. The king-sized bed was luxurious. The room had a gas fireplace with buttons you could push for 30 min, 1 hr, etc. So you could go to sleep with the fire on, and not have it burning all night. Our room did not overlook the garden, but the view was still pretty. The bathroom was amazing: clawfoot tub with hand-held shower wand, stone-tiled shower with rain showerhead, double sinks in an armoire-styled vanity. Before dinner, 3 plates of cheese, strawberries, and walnuts, and 3 bottles of wine were set out in the common living room for each of the club rooms; each had a card with the guests' names on it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our couples massage. Never did that before. Our professional therapists truly melted away the cares of the world. We also tried a free spinning class, another first for us. Some of our fellow spinners have club memberships, so were from the area. Everyone was very nice and made us feel at home.

We had dinner at the restaurant Friday night. The matre'd had the host seat us at his favorite table in honor of our anniversary. Our waiter brought us flutes of complementary champaigne. The bread was soft, warm little pillows. I'm glad they only brought us 2, or I wouldn't have been able to resist spoiling my dinner. My veg soup au jour was too spicy for me, and my husband's french onion was too sweet for him, so we traded with each other and were happy. I had the wild salmon, flown in fresh for Mirbeau. It was succulent, delicious. I couldn't finish it, so they put it in their fridge for me to pick up at check out the next day. I ate the rest on the way home and it was still amazingly delicious-- even cold! My husband loved the sushi-grade tuna. Both were cooked to the chef's recommended doneness, and we were not disappointed. The disappointment was being too full for dessert!

We also ate breakfast in the restaurant, next to the window overlooking the koi pond, and opting for menu entrees rather than the very limited free buffet. Our full breakfasts cost only an additional $5 after they credited the amount of the buffet to the bill. My husband doesn't recall ever having such delicious bacon before this. My lemon ricotta pancakes were dreamy.

We strolled around the garden in the morning sunshine, and then browsed in the Skaneateles shops before having to return home, pampered, relaxed and rested.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. In good weather, rooms on the first floor garden side can us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

first point, this is a very expensive hotel. It did however, do all it could to earn the top dollar it cost. I waited too long to make reservations for a weekend wedding hours away from home and after repeat calls to booked hotels miles away, found just one room (a deluxe suite) at the Mirbeau. It is a truly lovely property, reminding me very much of Giverny- which was the intention. we arrived late and had a quick supper which was very good, and would have stayed in the lively wine bar if not for a wedding gathering across town. the next morning we took advantage of the spa services and I had the best (and most expensive) mani-pedi ever. My husband also rated his massage excellent. Our suite (shared by three rooms) was refreshed every day/evening with complementary fruit, champagne, cheese and cookies. The town of Skaneateles was really a great place to stay for a weekend- and I would love to visit the Mirbeau again- but probably not in a suite.

Room Tip: If price is not an object, the suite really made the weekend special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that your delayed booking allowed you a chance to experience Mirbeau! We are also pleased that you were able to partake in dining and spa during your stay as well. We hope that you will return soon to be our guest again. A quick note, our traditional guest rooms are identical in décor and amenities (minus the living room and complementary food you mentioned but including the bed, bedding, fireplace, armoire and bathrooms). We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We spent the night and enjoyed the gorgeous property and amenities. The property is amazing and our cottage room was beautiful. Loved the walk in shower and claw foot tub. We were on the 2nd floor in building 5 and our view was beautiful.

We had a delicious dinner, escargot on puff pastry with shallots and brie was one of the most delicious things I've ever eaten. The breakfast was equally delicious, ricotta lemon pancakes: fluffy....

The spa locker room was well appointed with every toiletry imaginable. The relaxation room was pure heaven. Perfect temperature, comfortable loungers, great tea. The whirlpool spa was nice, the jets were very hard. There weren't a lot of comfortable places to sit and we were crowded with other couples.

Our spa treatments (massage and facial) were nice, but not outstanding. The prices are high and I was expecting a bit more.

Overall, it was very enjoyable to spend time at Mirbeau.

Room Tip: Cottage 5 was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldinrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence Center, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Absolutely horrible service. From the beginning during check in until the end during check out the service was horrible. It seemed as if there was no one in charge and no one knew what they were doing. The only exception was the spa where every detail was exceptional. Incorrect charges, bad food, waitresses and waiters who were absolutely clueless! Not acceptable for what was charged and overcharged to my group.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you did not enjoy your experience at The Dining Room at Mirbeau. I assure you that the overwhelming response we get from our dining guests is excellent. We would like to discuss your experience further, understand some of the areas that went wrong for you, please contact our property and request to speak with our Food and Beverage Director. We hope that you will reconsider and return again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

A last minute change of plans landed us at the Mirbeua Inn and Spa. While our visit lasted just overnight... It was just charming! What an unexpected surprise.

We arrived around 6 pm and check in went smooth. All the rooms are the same and much like beautiful places I have stayed at in Europe. Although the the inn is only 11 years old, you feel like you are in a French chateau or a castle somewhere in Austria. Really lovely. The beds are king size custom made and you can even order the bedding to recreate at home. We have a really spectacular bathroom in our home, so it takes an awful lot to impress us... This bathroom was very nice. Claw foot tub,mdouble sinks, decent size shower with lots of hot water and really good water pressure... A delight! The bathroom was set up with an armoir looking piece of furniture that had the sinks in it on a diagonal and then behind it, the toilet had privacy from everything else. Quite clever. The rooms have gas fireplaces that turn on and off with the flick of a switch and the rooms have flat screen tv's a safe and mini bar concealed in a beautiful custom armoir. The rooms surround a replica of Monet's garden with the lily pond and bridge. It was designed by a Monet garden specialist and is quite authentic. There are bicycles to use and a visually impressive spa on the Lower level of the inn. During the morning and afternoon guests wonder the property in robes (which looks kind of funny) but evening requires business casual, at a minimum. Very romantic place. Great for couples lots of pregnant couples on a "last hurrah". Great for girls weekend or just a relaxing get away. They have classes of yoga, spinning & such. They have spa treatment, a beautiful room with huge heated foot bath and comfy lounge chairs to relax or wait for your treatments. They also have this very European hot spring looking hot tub area. Also, beautiful locker rooms and a very nice gym. They update the equipment every year! They have bottled spring water and local apples everywhere for your enjoyment.

They have an amazing wine bar that is self service. You exchange your credit card for a card of yours that keeps track of what you spend. You can select for a taste, half a glass or a whole. They have many choices from a few dollars a taste to $35 (or more) per glass. Every time you insert your card it shows what you owe. Los of fun!

Dining is in their French steak house. Aged meats and lots of local foods. The servers ask for your name and the customer service is outstanding! They want you to feel like you are staying in the home of a friend. There are fireplaces all over and lots of cozy chairs. Back to dinner...the food was all good. Nice quality, but VERY SLOW! I guess you are there for a leisurely meal, so it wasn't a problem and we didn't have to drive anywhere when we were finished, so again fine, but... Very slow. Also, there were a few errors with our meals. They were all corrected and each time something wasn't right, they removed it from the bill, for our inconvenience, again... Can't complain. Their bread was delicious, their dessert was amazing and the atmosphere was charming. They even kept our leftovers in their refrigerator for us to take home the next day! Breakfast the next day was tasty, but also very slow! Really only complaint about the place. Next time we are in town, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank battgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are very proud of our Monet Gardens and even have some of the roses that came from Monet’s own gardens in France as shoots! We apologize for the lengthy time the restaurant took in preparing your meals. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests’ experiences at Mirbeau and have reviewed your comments with our Food & Beverage staff. We hope to see you again as our guest. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

What a perfect girls weekend getaway! I had a group of 6 ladies, and we stayed in the club room- which includes 3 rooms for 2. We had a huge living and dining room where we could all hang out as a group---much better than being in individual rooms.

We loved that you can lounge in your robes around the entire resort---they were so comfy!

We had meals delivered to our room, tons of vino, and the staff was incredibly accomodating and friendly!

The spa was GORGEOUS and we lived in the 15-person hot tub---did I mention there was a bar next to the hot tub with waitress service?? perfection.

We also booked a wine tour and had the best guide--Kathy was like our 7th friend for the day.

What a perfect weekend getaway---it went too fast.

Room Tip: If you have a big group, do the club rooms---its perfect for spending time together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G00dsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your review. We happy to hear that your girls enjoyed their experience with us! The Club Rooms are the perfect accommodations for groups such as yours. We are also very happy that you were able to take part in a number of small things at Mirbeau that we feel make the difference such as our ‘spend your day in robes’ idea, our room service and the wine tour. The Finger Lakes is a beautiful place to take a wine tour. We hope that the girls plan their next get-together soon and we hope that we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
1.3 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
6.1 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.8 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles

Property: Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Address: 851 W Genesee Street Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirbeau Inn & Spa is a 34-room luxury Spa Resort combining the amenities of a boutique country inn, world-class spa and nationally acclaimed fine dining, all with the elegant comforts and residential feel of a wine country estate.The Inn and Spa consists of six buildings clustered around beautifully landscaped ponds and impressionist gardens. The exterior architecture, interior decor and landscape design are reminiscent of an Old World French Country Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirbeau Inn And Spa
Mirbeau Spa Skaneateles
Mirbeau Hotel Skaneateles
Spa Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing