We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four night trip- wonderful experience”

Mid-Lakes Navigation
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mid-Lakes Navigation is a family owned and operated tour boat company, cruising on the Erie Canal and Skaneateles Lake in New York's beautiful Finger Lakes Region. Come help us celebrate 50 years on Skaneateles Lake in 2018!
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We rented the Skaneateles II, a 41 ft fully equipped canal boat. All we had to bring was a little food and our clothes. The boat is large, comfortable and easy to handle. Each location where we docked had a nice restaurant, and if it hadn't rained we could have done more touring and biking. We brought my 89 year old mother who has trouble walking and thought that vacations were no longer an option for her. She loved the boat and even took a turn at the tiller. I highly recommend this slow, easy paced trip for any senior.

Thank jmsblest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidLakes N, Manager at Mid-Lakes Navigation, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for the great review! It reminded me of taking my Grandma (who was about the same age as your mom at the time) a few years back. She didn't want to get on and off of the boat too many times, but she loved cruising along and sitting on the back deck in the towns talking to passers-by while we went into to town to fetch her nice things. Great memories!

There is something for everyone on the canal, and your experience with your mom and mine with my gram sure are proof of that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dinner cruise"
in 45 reviews
"skaneateles lake"
in 49 reviews
"canal boat"
in 19 reviews
"boating experience"
in 7 reviews
"sightseeing tour"
in 5 reviews
"prime rib"
in 8 reviews
"dinosaur bbq"
in 8 reviews
"top deck"
in 4 reviews
"night trip"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 8 reviews
"mail boat"
in 9 reviews
"lovely cruise"
in 3 reviews
"scenic cruise"
in 3 reviews
"perfect evening"
in 3 reviews
"the wait staff"
in 5 reviews
"four nights"
in 3 reviews
"great captain"
in 3 reviews
Filter

255 - 259 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

While visiting the area on a day trip we decided to take the 50 minute tour of the lake. Great experience and way to see the village, shoreline and lake homes. The captain & narrator was very knowledgeable and shared many stories of the residences and residents of the community. An excellent choice!

Thank AR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidLakes N, Manager at Mid-Lakes Navigation, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We are so glad that you took the time to join us Al, and we hope you join us again and stay a little longer. Maybe a Dinner or Mailboat Cruise to see more of beautiful Skaneateles Lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We rented the smaller vessel (The Canadice) for a week. It was easy to maneuver and very comfortable for two people. The boat was clean and well equipped. All linens are provided and the only paper goods you need to think about are facial tissues. On board are maps, binoculars and a bird book. You don’t need to worry about pumping out the boat or refueling for the week. You only have to take on water periodically and it’s best to hook up on-shore electricity overnight. The smaller vessel isn’t air conditioned, but does have heat. Some of their larger vessels have air conditioning.
We had a wonderful time, heading East (the quiet direction) from Macedon for a few days and then going back toward the West (more restaurants and shopping). On our 7 days, we went through 24 locks and 8 lift bridges and had a blast. We are now inspired to do the same thing in Europe.

1  Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidLakes N, Manager at Mid-Lakes Navigation, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of the Lockmaster Canal Boat! It's great reviews like this that inspire us to keep the boats in excellent condition and keep providing a unique boating experience. We appreciate your kind words, and hope you'll come back for another Erie Canal cruise (after that trip to Europe, of course!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have always taken the dinner cruise but this time we did the lunch cruise and that was nice. It was the first day they were out this year and the boat wasn't full, so this was nice. i was with my mom and sister and they have never taken this boat cruise and enjoyed seeing all the houses from the lake side and hearing the stories about the houses and some local history.

Thank SheilaWeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidLakes N, Public Relations Manager at Mid-Lakes Navigation, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thanks for joining us for lunch Sheila! Glad you got to share it with your mom and sister. Lunch cruises are nice if you have other things in the area planned during the day. A relaxing two hours with food and great scenery. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We took the dinner cruise this past summer when nasty weather was all around (except on the lake!). It was a most enjoyable three hours. The drinks were great and the four course meal was incredibly good. The soup was good and the prime rib truly excellent. This is an incredible bargain.
About twenty years ago I took their luncheon cruise and it was also excellent.

3  Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYAimee, Guest Relations Manager at Mid-Lakes Navigation, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We can't wait for Spring cruising to start. Hope you get a chance for another Mid-Lakes Cruise this summer...maybe try us on the Erie Canal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid-Lakes Navigation also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mid-Lakes Navigation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing