We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girlfriend's Getaway Spot”
Review of Gray House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray House
Ranked #8 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Girlfriend's Getaway Spot”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just returned from a long weekend in Skaneateles. A girlfriend and I selected the Gray House primarily because it offered a room with 2 beds (full & twin) at a fair price. But the choice turned out to be a good one. The house itself is a large, lovely Victorian, full of cute/fussy bric brac. Location was outstanding for the town. Lots of parking behind the house. Our room was a good size with a very clean bathroom and stall shower. Beds themselves were definitely on the hard side, and pillows, although there were many,were flat as pancakes. House was relatively quiet, even at full capacity (with a baby in the room above us) on a Saturday night. The innkeepers are low-key, just stopped by to process our credit card and give house instructions. I knew from the website that they don't offer a full, hot breakfast, which has always been a favorite treat of mine at other B&B's, but instead put out a spread of cereals, granola, fresh fruit, english muffins, juice, coffee, and a fresh breakfast bread each morning. We had pumpkin chocolate chip & coffee cake on our stay. The kitchen is open though, and stocked with fruit, cookies, juice, iced tea, etc. for snacking anytime - a nice treat. The town itself was quaint, quiet, walkable, and adorable. We saw most of it on foot the afternoon we arrived. Lots of cute shops stocking locally made art, jewelry, etc. The restaurant scene is very quiet. A bar/nightlife scene - non-existant. The options we saw were the Inn, Doug's Fish Fry (locally famous), The Pasta Garage (good dinner), a sushi place, and 2 grills (names?) with what seemed to be a shared kitchen. Specialty coffee and treats can be found in the bakery. That's about it. We booked a wine trolley tour at Cayuga Lake - about a 1 hour drive away. Highly recommend that tour!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leilaniox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We got together with cousins we hadn't seen in 50 years, and used every last inch of the Gray House to talk, reminisce, look at pictures, laugh and laugh. We were staying in all the rooms but one, and the folks in that room join in our festivities like long-lost cousins! Innkeepers Val and Bob could not have been nicer, the location was perfect for us, the rooms were splendid, comfortable and clean. The common spaces were just what we needed and the breakfasts were generous and yummy.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are like mini-apartments as each has its own living room, bedroom, eat-in kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rookwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Great location, beautiful house, walking distance to downtown and waterfront. Continental breakfast. This is more of a hands off B&B. We saw the owners once in 3 days (they were very nice and gave great history of the house) but they were only a phone call away if you needed something(we didn't). The room we stayed in had a kitchen with full size frig, stove is there, but just for looks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenSharAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

A good thing that our time spent here was minimal, because too many little things made us think that our money would have been better spent in a motel. A sagging mattress, rusty bathroom sink, old textile furnishings in the bathroom, a so-so cold breakfast, were the things that bothered us most. It's location is excellent: walking distance to the center of the village. Staff was friendly and helpful. But of all the B&B's we've stayed at, we'd rate this on as our least enjoyable B&B experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulspatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock new Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

It wasn’t the uninspiring cold continental breakfast of cereal and fruit or the kids in the suite who were running the floor above our heads at 5:00am. It wasn’t the volunteer fire siren that went off the next morning at 5:00am in the back yard and it wasn’t the tiny bathroom with the showerhead 4 feet up the wall that made me shower on my knees. It was the total disinterest in running a B&B by the innkeepers that turned me off to this place. From the nasty phone call at 5:00 pm asking why we weren’t there at 2:00pm when we said we would be there sometime Sunday (we were enjoying one of the many wineries along the way).Or when I asked if they had any recommendations for dinner in Skaneateles and the innkeeper silently pointed to the folder of menus near the front door. Or the fact that they had zero interest in even conversing with their guests other than taking care of the business of collecting money.
On the plus side it was a short walk to town and there was ample off-street parking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
697 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
6.8 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray House

Property: Gray House
Address: 47 Jordan St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1105
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray House is located in the village of Skaneateles, one block from the lake and shopping. We offer rooms with twin, full or queen size beds, each with a private bath and air-conditioning. Plus we have two suites each with a sitting room and kitchen. A continental breakfast is served from 8 a.m. until 10 a.m. After a long day relax in one of our two large parlors, or read a book on our porch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing