We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful town”
Review of Skaneateles Lake

Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This clean, serene lake is the easternmost of New York's Finger Lakes.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful town”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were there on a nice, sunny day. The lake is crystal clear. Plenty of restaurants, shops and lake views to please anyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queenofdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    83
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Weekend at Skaneateles”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautiful lake and town. Be sure and take the boat tour when visiting. Winery tour at Anyeles was very enjoyable as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for an Overnight Getaway”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Decided to give this area a try. So glad we did. It's a little less than 3 hours from our home, so it's doable even as a day trip. The lake is just so beautiful and clean looking. We were unable to take the boat cruise this stay due to other activities and the weather being an issue the last day of our stay. The town is small and charming. The homes on the drive into town have gorgeous architecture. There is a nice mix of stores in town, as well as choices of restaurants. For dinner, we chose The Sherwood Inn for our fine dining. The next day we tried Doug's Fish Fry, as mentioned on Trip Advisor. We were so full from lunch, we were unable to eat dinner that night which was going to be the Bluewater Grill. There is a lovely drive around the east side of the lake to Glen Haven. Lets just say that was an interesting place to end up! I won't spoil it, so check it out for yourself! We returned back the same way and stopped at Anelya's Vineyard. What a gorgeous view of the lake from there. Wine sampling price was excellent. We were there 3 days in total but 2 days is a better fit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaP103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne,nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wine Trail getaway”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

lake was pristene, town was very small but nice, near wine trails good for a weekend trip any longer you would get bored unless you just like to rest up no night life

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Charming lake side town. Nice gift shops and the 2pm cruise on the lake is good value with an interesting commentary about properties around the lake. A very pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAD_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skaneateles Lake also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Skaneateles Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing