We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Bay YMCA - Conference and Family Retreat Center
Nearby Hotels
The Sagamore Resort(Bolton Landing)(Great Value!)
$229
$206
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
20
16
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
16
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake georgethere is no air conditioningmain innhiking trailsbeautiful lakearcherylodgingadirondacks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 43 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was amazingly beautiful. Lake George....If you love outdoor, this is the place to be. This nature welcome you in very warm way and let you be a part of it. Every corner you walk, it is wonderful views. Nice people and a lot of fun outdoor activities. I specially loved Kayaking. You just melt into the beautiful Lake George. Family and a couple...single person....we are all together in this place. And price was unbelievable! We stayed in just renovated overlook room with shared bath. Bathroom are very clean and bed was very comfortable. Meals are pretty good. I loved the breakfast with fresh fruits bar! You should go!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Junkoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We attended our family reunion here in July of 2011. The grounds are large and well maintained. We stayed in the main building where the rooms had private baths as the other buildings did not. There was no air conditioning and the room had two single beds complete with super squeaky floors! Our package came with 3 meals per day and access to all the facilities and participation in all activities. The food was very good and plentiful and the sleeping arrangements were tolerable. At night about the only entertainment is the ice cream shop which we made good use of. Our family reunion negotiated price was 130 dollars per person per night which seems pretty high but we felt it was fair for all that was included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midland98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

A beautiful and peaceful bit of heaven here on earth

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptsarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Silver Bay is from a previous generation -- no a/c, no TV, no bar, etc. It is actually a YWCA camp. But for that growing population of healthy non-drinkers/natural living folks, this place has a lot to offer. The amenities (sailing, canoeing, swimming, tennis, etc.) are excellent, well-maintained, very available. The rooms are nice and spacious with no cheap plastic furniture. The halls and lobby are huge, wide, low-ceilinged, richly carpeted, etc. The food is WAY beyond even good regular resort food, more like a fine restaurant (ex: shellfish marinara w shrimp, clams, mussels as a standard dinner item). The grounds are gorgeous old-Adirondacks style -- giant boxwoods, endless lawns, enormous patios and porches with stone benches and wood rockers. Almost Gatsbyesque.. A delightful experience. Note-- bring a small cooler full of ice.

Room Tip: The main inn
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank McLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous and tons to do. If you're an outdoorsy person, this is the place for you. It's absolutely scenic, the Inn is a gorgeous building. The staff are friendly, although most are quite young (think camp counsellors).

For what you pay per person per night ($115+), you get very little, the room is basic, but clean and has what you need. And I knew what to expect. Although no A/C in August with a sunburn - definitely not ideal

But on top of this, you have to buy meal tickets - to eat "camp style" food - it's awful. Cheese & chicken quesadillas (Or just spaghetti) are not a meal! It may work for small children at summer camp, but its not appropriate for a resort. They had vegetarian options - but no gluten free or lactose free options (other than the salad bar). You're much better off to drive into one of the little towns along 9N and get lunch at a restaurant

Lake George is beautiful - and everywhere in the area is pricey. I can honestly say that Silver Bay isn't the most expensive and at least it comes with tons of options in terms of activities. If you do stay here, expect simple rooms and go somewhere else for your meals!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brneyes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews