We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
55
13
10
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
55
13
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crescent beach grounds are gorgeous boutique hotel continental breakfast front porch suzanne weekend summer accommodations bikes cottage season backyard vineyards fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 83 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

My husband booked Shelter Island house as a surprise first Anniversary impromptu getaway.
Upon arrival it was dead. The "front desk" young lady was sitting in their dark, desolate restaurant bar.
Upon entering our stifling room suite on the second floor we asked if they had air conditioning. She informed us she would turn on the window ac. It was so oppressive we had to leave the room to allow it to cool down.
Knowing you had a couple arriving for a special evening, staying in the suite and not to have it properly cooled down is beyond me. Strike one.
We then were informed that the hotel bar and restaurant was closed Tuesday evenings. Strike two.
As first time visitors to the Inn at
and the island we learned NOTHING is open on Tuesday evenings on the island.
Our intention to enjoy the hotel and a quiet evening together was ruined as we then had to travel back to Greenport for drinks and dinner. We didn't return until 11pm. Pool was closed at some ridiculously early hour. No bar, nothing to do.
No information is provided on your website page in regards to your bar and restaurant hours or to the others on the island. Very misleading, considering it is summer and the cost of your room would reflect a fully functioning Inn at peak season.
We are so disappointed with our experience.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island H, Guest Relations Manager at Shelter Island House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are so sorry to hear your anniversary celebration was less than perfect. We really like to make our guests celebrations special and apologize we were not able to make you feel exceptional. We appreciate your feedback regarding the comfort of the room and have addressed with housekeeping. The restaurant hours are found on our Tavern page under hours on our website and on our booking site. We hope you can return on another visit in season to take advantage of our full hotel amenities and all the activities Shelter Island has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

Our second time staying here overnight, as a quiet get away for just the two of us. We've gotten the King Suite on both visits. This time was just as nice as the first. Quiet, clean, well-decorated rooms in a charming old inn. Comfortable beds with quality linens. Bathrooms are small but clean. Our favorite perk is the fantastic dining downstairs. The fact that we can have an amazing dinner & drinks and just walk back up to our room is a huge bonus. The staff is more than courteous & welcoming. It has the bed & breakfast feel without having to share breakfast with strangers the next morning. We did make use of the nice little spread downstairs of pastries, good coffee, & tea in the morning. We highly recommend the Shelter Island House and are looking forward to staying again next winter.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

Was very disappointed by our stay at Shelter Island House. We were so looking forward to it but it was a complete let down. From the outside the place looks a bit tired, could certainly do with a fresh paint. The room was lovely, big comfy bed, overlooking the pool. Attention to detail is so important for somewhere that describes itself as a luxury hotel. No water or snacks in the bedroom (despite what was suggested in the leaflet on the table), socket coming away from wall, safe not working, air conditioning system dated, no robes, travel hairdryer. Would not like to stay here in the height of summer as I think we would have melted. Bathroom was small and little room for any toiletries. It took us a while to figure out how the bedroom door locks. The worst thing has to have been the breakfast. Was really appalled by the "contintental breakfast". This was one of the most expensive places we stayed on our honeymoon and breakfast consisted of packets of cereal, overdone croissants and brown bananas (We had great experiences in NYC, Cape Cod and Kennebunkport and each inn offered a full cooked breakfast with lots of choice, one inn even provided a 3 course breakfast). The restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday night as it was off season - we were not aware of this until we arrived. This should be made clear on their website or upon booking and the information in the room is contrary. The staff are very pleasant and friendly. Such a shame as I think this place has such potential. Will not be returning.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful Inn very friendly and comfortable. Good food in Tavern on site delicious Highly recommend Bocce Ball court fun! Close to Ferry They arranged for us to have a wine tour with a fun and knowledgeable guide. We will be back!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank angela72458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island H, Guest Relations Manager at Shelter Island House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Thank you for the great 5 star review. We are delighted to hear you had such a nice stay and so much fun on the Bocce court! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017

I was really excited to visit this hotel and while it was overall a great experience, the rooms are a little sparce/antiquated and the bathrooms are fine but could use some updating. We had a room on the first floor. If I were to go back I would request a room on the second floor. The pool area is great and the outdoor lounge/restaurant are really nice too. It's in a good location to Sunset Beach and I prefer staying in this area than town. They have bikes which was useful but the island is very hilly so be warned if you use them!

Room tip: Get a room on the second floor
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ocbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island H, Guest Relations Manager at Shelter Island House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased you found the pool/lounge area as well as the restaurant so great! Exploring Shelter Island via our complimentary bikes is a favorite amenity of our guests and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy our location and another bike ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews