We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a deeply restful and satisfying weekend-an underknown”
Review of The Pridwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pridwin Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was a deeply restful and satisfying weekend-an underknown”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We find this hotel to be one of our favorite places to stay as a couple as well as with our kids. The food is delicious, fresh and healthy and the wine selection is always the best in local wines. The bar is a great place to listen to music and watch the sunset. Our kids can move from the game room to the pool freely since the staff is so friendly and attentive. There is a beautiful breeze and view of the water for meals and plenty to do with a wide range of boats to use right out front. We play tennis every time we visit on the great courts. This big old hotel can be a romantic place for a couple and it also is a cozy, safe and fun place for the kids. The rooms are designed in efficient compact way which feels like many european hotels i have visited. After many years in the Hamptons we recommend this one as the perfect place to get away to...year round.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    66
    31
    24
    27
See reviews for
63
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Because of hurricane Earl, we had to change our Labor Day travel plans at the last minute. The Pridwin is in a great location, and you can tell it probably used to be a great hotel. The guys behind the bar were great, and dinner on the deck was excellent. Unfortunately the rooms are shabby (we were in 309), as are the hallways and stairwells. We can appreciate "simpler times" rather than modern, but the whole place needs to be scrubbed down and refurbished. When you shell out more than $250 a night, you have certain expectations and we were definitely disappointed. They should take a cue from a good inn, like the Red Lion or something similar, because the place could be really nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Do not be taken in by the Photo. thats the only good thing about this hotel.they say go to a place were time stands still. Well its stood still at this hotel for at least 20 years.
Small hotel guest rooms dirty carpets very damp musty & moldy.
Beautiful Dinning room over looking the Sound But thats all. the food is terrible.(Crescant beach Restrunt just up the road food is fabouls ) the staff told me we are very laid back. if they laid back any father i would think i was staying at a hosspise .
My wife & i had planned to stay at the Pridwin for 7 days we lasted 2 days.way over priced for what they offer witch is nothing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Shelter Island is a dream. A place where time has stood still in the best of ways.

The Pridwin Beach Hotel & Cottages has one of the most amazing settings of any small seasonal hotel on the East End. The fish served in the Dining Room is caught by the family that owns the hotel and is incredibly fresh and lovingly prepared. The Wednesday night cook-out is a very local feeling event that apparently has been going on for decades. Great tennis teachers and courts and amazing bike riding on the island - the Pridwin has only no-speed bikes so bring your own!

In general I would say the Pridwin is anti-trendy - God bless them!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Below23rdSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I went to Shelter Island with my boyfriend for my birthday and stayed at the Pridwin Hotel. After Labor Day, it's off-season and the prices dropped about $60 a night for rooms in the hotel. That seemed like an okay deal so we booked it. Yes, it was off-season and yes, they were busy with hosting a wedding reception, but the staff could have been more welcoming and accommodating, Our experience in dealing with them was lukewarm at best. There are plenty of other places to stay and although the location was nice, it wasn't worth it in exchange for the cold feeling we got from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slolane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The Pridwin is definitely not a resort. It has a great location that's it! The place reeks of mold and mildew as soon as you walk in the back door. The room assigned to us was on the first floor. The stained and dirty hallway rug and mildew smell did not prepare me for the alarming smell of mold and mildew in the room. The air vents were filthy and an electric socket was coming out of the wall. The smell was unbearable. I could not let myself or my family risk our health and safety. I had to get out of there.
I got a refund and stayed in Southhampton. This place is definitely not a resort. It needs a major renovation and the staff needs to be more professional. Good luck if you choose to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anteliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PridwinOffice, Office manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2009
Dear anteliza,

We apologize again for your bad experience. This season was unusually wet and as you (and many people who frequent eastern long island) know, humidity is always an issue on eastern long island even during 'dry' summers.

We are acutely aware of the issues with the first floor rooms. All the carpeting in each of 4 first floor rooms and entrance hallway will be replaced before the 2010 season. And we are planning upgrades to our AC system, which will help with dehumidification as well. We had planned this already, but wanted you to know that we take guest criticism very seriously.

Please feel free to contact me anytime.

Sincerely
Nichole Thomas
Office Manager
Pridwin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I paid $250 per night for a non-water view room-it was small, smelled of mildew and was inadequately air-conditioned. We asked for a fan, which helped, but none of this ventilation reached the bathroom so we opened its window and kept its door closed. We were surprised that some of the public spaces in the inn are not air-conditioned or have even a ceiling fan. The breakfast buffet is great; the pool is very nice. As was mentioned in other reviews, the Pridwin is in need of a "facelift." Installing new window air-conditioners (to replace the wall-mounted models) would go a long way towards making the rooms more comfortable. Though not a concern for us, the place is not handicap-friendly - there are many steps to climb, no elevators, no bellmen to assist with luggage. We think a lot more "creature comforts" should be provided to make one's stay more comfortable. The Pridwin is expensive (yes, we know it's Shelter Island and it's the height of season) but guests should not be made to feel they've been ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
68 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
6.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
487 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
183 reviews
20.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Property: The Pridwin Hotel
Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing