We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, views, sunsets”
Review of The Pridwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pridwin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, views, sunsets”
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Perfectly located hotel on the beach. We stayed for a week last summer, first in a breezy corner hotel room and then a cabin. The recently renovated cabin was decorated very fun & hip. We had our own deck overlooking the pool!

There are bicycles, kayaks, paddle boats, and other beach toys as well as a large pool.

The hotel is a deal, especially with the included meals. Get a waterview room or cabin to enjoy the sunset view.

  • Liked — views, pool, location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JPNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    66
    30
    24
    27
See reviews for
62
101
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

My family and I stayed for two long nights. It was prepaid and other accomodations were unavailable, so we had no choice. We selected a cabin ($360.00 + per night). It was dirty, required maintenance, the toilet did not work, the bathroom was the size of a powder room, the telephone wasn't working, no amenities (tissues, iron, ironing board, etc.), and no door on the one bedroom, just a fanfold curtain. The furnishings were cheap, worn and sparse. We did have one 19" TV with cable. Parking was a real problem and don't hope to park near your room, especially on the weekends.

Overpriced, shabby, undesirable, the philosophy seems to be, "how little time, expense and thought can we put into our hotel". It was like a cabin you would expect at a summer camp for children, but not as nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — terrible accommodations
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask someone who has been there before
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

There are some nice things about the Pridwin - the location is beautiful and many of the rooms have great views of the water. The place has a quaint family atmosphere, and the room was clean and reasonably furnished but I really feel that $270 a night is outrageous for a place that just offers so-so amenities. Almost all of the games in the game room were broken, and the ping pong tables had giant chunks of wood missing from them. There are supposedly boats for rent, but only one Sunfish and one single person kayak were actually operational during our time there. There was a giant bleach stain on the rug on the third floor and many of the common areas smelled old and moldy. The service at the restaurant was so slow that it literally took two hours to get served a cheeseburger for lunch. If it hadn't been so expensive to stay here, I would have been reasonably content, but it just didn't provide the service and amenitites that you would expect for the money.

  • Liked — View and location
  • Disliked — Upkeep of property was poor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anastatiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach Via NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2006

I was a little concerned about my reservation after reading a bad review on this site. I called and told Nicole that.... the staff is so caring you would think they were owners.

She assured me that The Pridwin was a great place for a Holiday/ Family vacation.
I am always setting an appropriate benchmark in my mind when I travel. So I expect one thing from the Ritz and another from a Holiday Inn.
Shelter Island was recently written up as "The Un Hamptons". If you know the area you know the beauty is the non commercial and rustic appeal. The Pridwin is a Hotel of that genre. The rooms are older and more rustic than the The Sunset scene down the street.
We took the kids there one night for dinner and they hated the loud city scene. The Pridwin gave us two excellent meals a day and very simple accomadations. The pool and small beach area are perfect for family environments. We were very comfortable there and the kids had a blast. Thank you Nicole for the reassurance we will definetly be back next Memorial Day weekend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachbellaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Attended wedding June 3--wedding wonderful, beautiful setting and food was excellent; room was adequate and service great; very accommodating--staff anxious to please; rooms need updating but certainly a charming place. Attended wedding brunch on Sunday and food again was excellent. Glad we stayed at the Pridwin.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We visited The Pridwin Hotel for Memorial weekend 2006. The atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. Our room overlooked the bay and a soft sea breeze was a constant. The hotel was clean, the front desk staff was friendly and accommodating, and the meals, which were included in our weekend package, were adequate.

The suggestions we have are that the wait staff needed to be a bit more organized. The menu could have been more diverse, as it was limited and did not change very much over the course of the weekend. The "king" size bed in our room was actually two twin beds stuck together, which was a problem for us because we are both tall. The shower was also a bit inconvenient, as the shower head was at chest level and also a problem for those of us who are tall.

We especially enjoyed the poolside lunch and and the free fireworks display that was provided by the nearby village of Greenport, which we watched from our hotel room window on Saturday night. We also enjoyed touring the island and the nature preserve on the south side of the island. We would definitely recommend The Pridwin for a weekend getaway, but be sure to make your reservations early!

Helpful?
2 Thank SherryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We have just returned from a long weekend stay at the Pridwin Hotel. My 5 year old daughter, husband and I all had a wonderful time. This was a return visit--we stayed there last year and the year before. It is a wonderful kid-friendly place with kind, down-to-earth service. This weekend we had a cottage that, while it had not been renovated, was comfortable, clean and ideal for our child to play in. We had the good fortune to peek in at one of the several newly renovated cottages which are amazing! It respected the history of the Pridwin and the era in which it came into being--at the same time it was freshened up in cool and tasteful ways.

The dining room is nice--the eating terrace divine. The food and wine list are great and always improving. We absolutely love the fact that there is a pool and bikes to rent. We haven't yet taken advantage of all the boating options and next time we go we want to take lessons with the tennis pro on their tennis courts.

The Pridwin is the antidote for busy New Yorkers. It hearkens back to "the good 'ole days, even as it seems to be attentive--increasingly so--to contemporary tastes and expectations. I hate to let the secret out, but they deserve the praise and accolades.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
20.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
18.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Property: The Pridwin Hotel
Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia and HRS so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing