We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some outstanding amenities with room for improvement”
Review of The Pridwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pridwin Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
new york
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Some outstanding amenities with room for improvement”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a lovely, family run resort, with lots of traditional charm, stunning views, beautiful surroundings and fabulous food. With that said, there are a few areas that with a little improvement, could make this an outstanding family resort, most notably, the service.

We stayed for one night in room for four during a family reunion. The room was acceptable and clean, but could defintely do with some updating. Even a fresh coat of paint would make a world of difference.

The food was very good to excellent, but the dinner service was very slow. As we were a large group it was nice to have a leisurely dinner, but the pace of the service left a few members of the party disgruntled.

The pluses include the location, the swimming pool, the outdoor dining terrance, the breakfast buffet and the kids amenities: movie room,games rooms, tennis courts.

We would recommend this resort, keeping in mind you are mostly paying for the location. But all in all it was a lovely family getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teradactyltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Pridwin! We appreciate greatly your feedback. We are always trying to improve our service and had considered ourselves fairly adept at handling large groups in our dining room, but we''ll note your experience and work harder to improve this season. We are also in the process of refurbishing rooms with fresh paint and amenities. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pridwin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    66
    31
    24
    27
See reviews for
63
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The crew that runs this place were so accommodating. I was there for a wedding and they let us have our run of the place. Yes the rooms could use a bit of updating but that is part of the charm of this space.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank StefanSpins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PridwinOffice, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We had a great time working at that wedding too! We appreciate the feedback, it's spring time, we are awaking from the long winter and working on room refurbishing before our mid-May opening. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

.... at the Pridwin. We just spent two nights there over Columbus Day weekend and will definitely return again. Our room on the third floor was comfortable, clean, calm, and had a great view directly out to the water. Not fancy or luxurious, but certainly just fine. The continental breakfast was plentiful: fresh fruit, homemade granola, cereal, doughnuts (which I think the Pridwin makes), whole wheat English muffins, and more muffins. There are enough tables, unlike other hotels we've stayed at where they want the breakfast area to turn over fast. We saw couples of all ages and multi-generation families at breakfast. The desk staff and the breakfast staff were courteous and friendly. The stairwells are decorated with framed vintage bathing suits, a whimsical touch that reminds you the Pridwin has been around for a while. Yes, the hotel is old but not dated. The paint, carpets, and furniture are simple and up to date. The grounds are maintained. You can tell the owners put money into the basics, not into flash. The location is good: next door to the Perlman Center with its classical music concerts and across the street from a bayside beach. The only reason this warrants four stars is due to our short stay during the off season. If the hotel can do this well during the high season, then five stars it will be.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterview room in the hotel or a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flora57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a weekend wedding. The location is terrific, service and hospitality outstanding. The food was excellent, including the wedding reception. Quarters are cozy and personable. But the most outstanding characteristic is the helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding here last weekend, it was absolutely perfect. The staff was very friendly, the frond desk was very helpful and made recommendations for dinner or just a stroll. We had been planning our wedding with Alissa and JP for about a year, in the process they went above and beyond, answered every email and call made tons of suggestions and they delivered much more than we could have imagined! We had 120 guests and used their rectangular tables, Sag Harbor Florist did our flowers and the result was simply perfect! Every single one of our guests commented on how perfect it all was, the setting, the staff and the food. We cannot thank the Pridwin and their staff enough for such a lovely weekend and a perfect wedding!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yesenia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

rude desk people at check in,old beat up room had room 317,im disabled veteran had no handicap access and hotel did not inform of this,check out website their is no mention of this.No toilet exhaust in bathroom,old indoor outdoor carpet in room,no coffee pot(was told that building electric was so outdated it couldnt support a coffee pot in each room.disinterested staff,just the worst vacation in my 52 years of life and i have been to war in third world countrys.DONT SPEND YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: get a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just returned to England after spending the weekend at The Pridwin Hotel where my son and daughter in law's wedding took place. The hotel is in an amazing location over looking the bay. I booked a two bedroom and a one bedroom cottage for three nights and they were perfect. It gave us additional space to entertain friends and family on the shoulder nights before and after the wedding. The wedding reception was perfect, starting with drinks and canapes on the terrace over looking the water. The food was exceptional and the service was friendly but unobtrusive. Following the dancing our guests relaxed by the fire pit at the front of the hotel. The feedback from our guest from all over the world was that it was one of the best weddings they ever attended. A great hotel that we will return to in future. Thank you

Room Tip: Book a cottage over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
68 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
6.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
483 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
181 reviews
20.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Property: The Pridwin Hotel
Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing