We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sunsets, fabulous upscale menu, family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pridwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pridwin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Northport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing sunsets, fabulous upscale menu, family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Location location location. Dining with my husband at sunset while my children are supervised by staff watching a family movie....nicely done! The food was outstanding: freshly caught tuna tartar, clams and musssels, filet cooked to perfection, local produce..arugula salad with shaved parmesean and wonderful local wine. The pool provides towels and bar service. Most hotels on the East End do not boast updated rooms and the Pridwin is no different in this regard. I choose swimming, hiking, biking, tennis, stunning views and equally amazing cuisine over room perfection any day. The staff was warm and accomodating. The relaxed and safe atmosphere provided for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CathyD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    65
    30
    24
    27
See reviews for
62
100
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stayed at the Pridwin for four nights last summer. I really enjoyed my stay here and highly recommend it, my room was clean and had an amazing view of the ocean beach front. The food at the hotel was a highlight, fresh caught seafood complemented with other locally grown flavors and wine from local vineyards :) The reception was really helpful, providing us with bikes and information about things to do in the area. The hotel provides great bike access to the rest of island and most of my days were spent admiring the beautiful surrounding neighborhoods, and searching for my own private stretch of beach. The hotel is also a short walk away from some other nightlife options. The starry August sky was also perfect for meteor shower watching! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I stayed at the Pridwin Hotel last August. It was a nice ‘relaxing’ getaway from the daily grind. I stayed in the hotel’s main build which has a lot of old school charm that takes you back to a more care free time. The rooms are comfortable, but the most memorable part is the waterfront setting and the hotels location. There are on site bike rentals that can get you around to most of the island; we didn’t use our car the whole weekend we were there. There are trendy restaurants and bars even within walking distance, but if you feel like staying in, the hotel restaurant has a great restaurant with fresh local fish and a nice relaxing outdoor bar on the front deck overlooking the water.

I just called to book a stay for next summer and they mentioned they were planning an update of the lobby and dining room that will be ready this Spring. We are very excited to go back for a second stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We find this hotel to be one of our favorite places to stay as a couple as well as with our kids. The food is delicious, fresh and healthy and the wine selection is always the best in local wines. The bar is a great place to listen to music and watch the sunset. Our kids can move from the game room to the pool freely since the staff is so friendly and attentive. There is a beautiful breeze and view of the water for meals and plenty to do with a wide range of boats to use right out front. We play tennis every time we visit on the great courts. This big old hotel can be a romantic place for a couple and it also is a cozy, safe and fun place for the kids. The rooms are designed in efficient compact way which feels like many european hotels i have visited. After many years in the Hamptons we recommend this one as the perfect place to get away to...year round.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Because of hurricane Earl, we had to change our Labor Day travel plans at the last minute. The Pridwin is in a great location, and you can tell it probably used to be a great hotel. The guys behind the bar were great, and dinner on the deck was excellent. Unfortunately the rooms are shabby (we were in 309), as are the hallways and stairwells. We can appreciate "simpler times" rather than modern, but the whole place needs to be scrubbed down and refurbished. When you shell out more than $250 a night, you have certain expectations and we were definitely disappointed. They should take a cue from a good inn, like the Red Lion or something similar, because the place could be really nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Do not be taken in by the Photo. thats the only good thing about this hotel.they say go to a place were time stands still. Well its stood still at this hotel for at least 20 years.
Small hotel guest rooms dirty carpets very damp musty & moldy.
Beautiful Dinning room over looking the Sound But thats all. the food is terrible.(Crescant beach Restrunt just up the road food is fabouls ) the staff told me we are very laid back. if they laid back any father i would think i was staying at a hosspise .
My wife & i had planned to stay at the Pridwin for 7 days we lasted 2 days.way over priced for what they offer witch is nothing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Shelter Island is a dream. A place where time has stood still in the best of ways.

The Pridwin Beach Hotel & Cottages has one of the most amazing settings of any small seasonal hotel on the East End. The fish served in the Dining Room is caught by the family that owns the hotel and is incredibly fresh and lovingly prepared. The Wednesday night cook-out is a very local feeling event that apparently has been going on for decades. Great tennis teachers and courts and amazing bike riding on the island - the Pridwin has only no-speed bikes so bring your own!

In general I would say the Pridwin is anti-trendy - God bless them!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Below23rdSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.8 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
20.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
18.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2.1 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Property: The Pridwin Hotel
Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing