We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to be!”
Review of Sunset Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Beach
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The place to be!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely small motel style but brand new room, very 70's. restaurant is happening every week end of the summer, play ping pong, pétanque, enjoy the beach and drink rose all day, great memory, for lunch reserve a table in the sand box!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethanelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset_Beach_Hotel, Manager at Sunset Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Sunset Beach. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to help you create many more great memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    20
    14
    27
See reviews for
20
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went out of the city for a short break and found this little hotel. It was not exactly how pictured it to be. The room was wonderful full of amenities. Beachfront view. Loved the sun deck. Not much of a beach but it was quiet. Dinner is not bad. Decent but pricey. We had the opportunity to ride around the area on their complimentary Schwinn bikes but it was more fun in our convertible. Not far from Lobster Roll restaurant. Good place for some R&R.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadifar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset_Beach_Hotel, Manager at Sunset Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Sunset Beach last season. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the amenities in the room as well as the complimentary bicycles. We are delighted that you were able to get some rest and relaxation with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I went for a weekend getaway ... Customer service was horrible, rooms smelled bad and were dirty, food wasn't that great . This place never specified that it was pet friendly we had to be switched in 1 hour to 3 different rooms, if you own a pet and don't mind the dog hair and the stale smell of dogs then this would be your place to go!! The owner lied and his employees stated that there were only certain rooms that were pet friendly , every room smelled and had dog hair all over it!! The only part of the weekend we enjoyed was the sunrise and our bike ride... Also, if you happen to travel there the week before memorial day weekend it's considered " their non- busy time" that little town basically shuts down by 7pm, (everything) its a ghost town... so we had to take a ferry back into the town to eat.... That's something else they do not mention...
Would skip this place , not worth the money spent ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LCM2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset_Beach_Hotel, Manager at Sunset Beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Sunset Beach last season. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and found the room to be in less than ideal condition. We welcome all members of the family, pets included. We pride ourselves not only in the service that we provide, but the clean, light, and airy rooms. We are saddened to hear that this was not your experience.
Part of the charm of Shelter Island is that it is a seasonal location. Visitors come to enjoy the calm and quiet at the beginning and end of the season. They come in July & August to enjoy the busier, livelier atmosphere as well.
We hope that you will join us again to see what Sunset Beach is really about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shelter Island hotels

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place is a St Tropez like ! I spent 2 nights with my wife last summer. The concept is very relaxing. It reminds me St Tropez boutique hotel. You need to make your reservation in advance to have the privilege to have a room. I will come back this summer !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeetMeInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful property, European atmosphere, crappy service. The breakfasts were excellent but dinner was hit or miss, either really good or really bad. Customer service is non-existent, staff is just not friendly or attentive. Loved the balcony of my room - lovely view. The room could have been nicer, it's like they're trying too hard to be cool. The clientele is showy, it's a real scene, which some people like but not me. Not interested in returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mlv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburnham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Honestly read every review below mine, as I will NOT need to write much, as everyone below has said it just as I would have. Horrible rooms, extremely dirty, outdated, and we felt like we needed to cover everything with our own towels we thankfully brought. I wish I had brought my own sheets and pillowcases, but really..... how would think that necessary at these prices.??? Do not book here!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank wachtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My now-husband and I had the most incredible engagement weekend here last summer. We go to Shelter Island annually and it's always a great time, but this was our first stay at Sunset, and it was over the top. From the location to the staff, food, our room and the amenities, we were well taken care of and more than satisfied in every regard.
I've heard far less glowing reviews and admittedly it's not for everyone- if, for example, you're traveling with a family/kids, and not up for splurging, you're going to be unhappy. But for a sexy stay at a gorgeously-designed place with the best beach/view on the island, this is what you want.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
1.6 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.9 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
1.0 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach

Property: Sunset Beach
Address: 35 Shore Rd, Shelter Island, NY 11965-2002
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Sunset Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Hotel Shelter Island
Sunset Beach Shelter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing