We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Pridwin Hotel(Shelter Island)
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harborfront Inn at Greenport(Greenport)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliffside Resort Condominiums(Greenport)(Great Value!)
$229
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Inn At North Fork(East Marion)(Great Value!)
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelter Island House(Shelter Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dering Harbor Inn(Shelter Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sag Harbor Inn(Sag Harbor)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
28
25
21
17
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
25
21
17
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer weekendferry ridevibedjweekendsluxe
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 119 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Rooms are small and super basic. no luxuries to be found. Staff is extremely helpful (and attractive), beach is gorgeous, scene is laid-back cool..

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keepingitanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A perfect location for a short break and if you are into people watching. The staff give hope of a good service but never quite delivering it. The only stand-out is the 'Beach Manager' Billy who greets you with a smile once you step onto Crescent Beach, helps you pick a spot, sets up your beach lounge and umbrella. He does it all with such genuine enjoyment he makes you happy - a stark contrast to the rest of the Sunset Beach staff.
The Maitre D at the restaurant is disorganised and hopeless at her job.
We were told it was a 5-10min wait for a table which was resonable. The restaurant was busy but no where near full capacity and it was nearly 3pm, hardly a peak time for lunch even on Shelter Island.
Surprise surprise she failed to sit us, who were staying at the hotel, for lunch after 30min. What made it worse was we had to ask if we were going to get seated. There was no offer of apologies or suggestions for alternatives.

Overall experience is less than average especially in service and room. Don't expect anything more unless you are prepared to tip to hilt.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WWW138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went here for a quick getaway from NYC for hubby's birthday (sans kids). We had an amazing time. Hotel staff were super friendly. Food and drinks were amazing (try the rose sangria and the grilled octopus). Rooms are not super fancy but really nice and beachy. Small bathrooms but again, it is very nice. Love the Kiehls bath products as well. Beach is nice and they provide chaises and umbrellas. Hotel has a very euro vibe and a lot of eye candy for both men and women. All in all it was a perfect weekend. We already booked August with the kids this time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pparasher77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Wow, maybe the worst service I have ever had in a hotel. This place is beautiful and I'm sure there is a lot to do if the weather is nice. Unfortunately, on our vacation a huge storm rolled in and the hotel was empty.

We were the only people eating in the restaurant our first night and when we woke up to a downpour the next day, we decided to go home early. Our plan was to check out a day early and have that 2nd night of our 2 night stay credited to a future reservation. Even though I was ready to book our next trip immediately, the manager said "there was nothing he could do". I made it clear that if he couldn't help us we would not be returning to Sunset Beach on our next trip to the Hamptons area. He was not concerned about this and suggested that we take advantage of their "extensive" DVD library. As mentioned in a previous review, their rooms are not very inviting and if I'm going to stay in and watch movies, I'll do it at home. We left early despite having to pay for the night and will not return to this property.

I understand that maybe you can't officially transfer a reservation but any effort to work with us would have been appreciated. Clearly our trip was ruined. We tried to contact the General Manager Steven twice after our trip and even tried contacting AB Hotels to share our feedback and heard back from no one.

On our next trip out there we will be staying at Ruschmeyers or Surf Lodge, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

In these reviews most people focus on the price of the accommodations/restaurant. While it is expensive, it is also a whole lot cheaper than flying to St Barths or St Tropez, and thats really the feeling that you get when you visit this great little part of the world.

I visited recently for a weekend with my significant other. Even though it was a 2 hour drive from the city, we felt transported to somewhere far away and were totally relaxed, whether we were getting some sun on the beach, riding bikes around Shelter Island, or hanging out at the bar. The staff was terrific - by the end of the weekend we knew almost everyone at the hotel and the restaurant on a first name basis. The service here was above and beyond.

The rooms were clean and stylish. The bathrooms have recently been renovated and while small, they serve their purpose. The mini bar was well stocked, including a couple bottles of private label Rose.

All in all, we had a fantastic time, and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pww214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews