We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
26
19
8
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
26
19
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach tennis property dresser summer rates
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 65 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2018

In the immortal words of Bette Davis,” What a dump!” My wife and I last stayed here 25 years ago on our honeymoon. Nothing has changed...except, thank god, the sheets. Our room (for a snappy $425 a night) is so outdated, badly furnished and rundown that it looks like the third day of a bad garage sale or at best a sorry combination of Goodwill meets Walmart. At $425 a night. Add a shower that doesn’t work, rock-hard pillows, no TV(If there was one it would probably have a crank) no house phone, no mini bar, no niceities, no nothing. The most amazing thing is that this spartan ugliness and dreary “charm” extends to every inch of this Inn. If you like spending time in a quaint eyesore then the Rams Head Inn is for you.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bergeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

The property is just breathtaking. The aesthetic from the outside is beautiful. Rolling lawns to the water, a gazebo, lovely landscaping and flowers. The public rooms are lovely. The lodging is basic. The rooms are small and the bathroom is minuscule. You certainly can't spend much time other than sleeping in the room. The sunroom is very comfortable and has the only TV. Buffet breakfast was unattended and very disappointing so we went out.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JB1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018

We stayed at the Ram's Head Inn and greatly enjoyed our experience. The rooms are nice, but the real draw is the location and property grounds. The beautiful lawn rolls down to a private beach. The hotel offers guests use the kayaks, sailboats, paddle boards etc. The ultimate East End experience!

Room tip: We stayed in room #1, which offered private access to a balcony overlooking the back lawn, water, and sunset.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WinesHamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I got married there in 2012, all of our guests loved every minute of it. The owners and staff were awesome. We had every room at the Inn, the food we requested was the best.

If the weather is nice you must go and stay for the weekend.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 206Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Aiming for a sort of old colonial charm that goes along with the general feel of Shelter Island, Ram's Head Inn has many of the key ingredients for that effort - a structure dating to 1929, a rambling veranda and a rolling lawn that arcs down past the lawn chairs under the trees, past the lawn bowls and the tennis court, down to the private beach where folks can kayak or swim. The location is really quite beautiful.
Where it falls somewhat short is in some of the other details
- the meals are ok, but not quite up to the price
- the service at dinner was slow and uncertain - we waited about 8 minutes for our server to come by for our order, while tables seated after us were attended to; I heard at least one server tell a guest it was their "first night" (never tell a customer that in any field of work for any reason under any circumstances)
- the walls are paper-thin (after we finally fell asleep despite our snoring neighbor, he woke up at 4.30am - fully rested I guess - and his laughing and talking with his wife cost us another hour or two of sleep)
- one tiny bar of soap faded to nothing without the staff opting to provide a fresh bar in the three nights we stayed - details
- the bar playlist sounded like Xirius Coffeeshop Country on a loop with Soft Rock Ballads FM (I don't need to hear Oasis' "Wonderwall" three times in one weekend, and certainly not their "Champagne Supernova" twice)
- one night after dinner an incredible pianist happened to be in the building and began playing the most extraordinary impromptu selection: we had to ask the staff to please turn down the Xirius playlist (or ask the pianist to stop, but don't have two music sources going at the same time, it's cacophonous and dissonant: not good atmosphere)
- the Xirius pumped nicely through the floor of our room at night

The bar tender was a gentleman and mixed some good cocktails for my girlfriend.
Perhaps we hit season opener?

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank OverseerOfAllThatIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews