We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall poor experience”
Review of Ram's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ram's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I'm sorry to say that this inn is not worth the trip. Shelter Island is beautiful and we've stayed at several properties there over the years, none of which are particularly great. The main problem with the Ram's Head is, as my husband pointed out, you pay "luxury" prices and the inn is kind of crummy. I'm happy to pay $550 for a hotel suite, and will certainly pay much more than that if I'm staying somewhere nice, but the Ram's Head isn't. The grounds are beautiful, but the rooms are dingy and feel cheaply thrown together and badly in need of updating. We got three rooms and all had old, worn wall-to-wall carpeting. There was a 3" gap at the base of our door, so we could hear every footstep and conversation up and down the hall. In fact, facing our door was a bathroom shared between several rooms, which had a door that stuck; everyone who went in and out slammed the door to close it, day and night. The bathtub was beaten up and difficult to stand in because of its awkward shape, with a shower head that was much too low. The water pressure was very poor, and the temperature of the water was impossible to regulate. The hotel claims to have a/c, but little to no cool air came out of the registers all weekend and all 6 of us were too hot. The service in the restaurant is slow and housekeeping was unresponsive and ignored our "do not disturb" sign. In all, it felt like staying in a dorm room. I would have been satisfied had I paid $150 - $200, but we will never stay there again. Try the Harbor Front in Greenport; for the same price, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sarspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 53 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel many times. The rooms are a little small but the property has a lot of charm. Its a great place to hang out. The beach is not as nice as the beach that the Pridwin and Sunset Beach motel are on but you can always drive there.
I haven't stayed at Sunset Beach but the Pridwin is awful (nice pool though). The included "breakfast" at the Pridwin is even worse than the Ramshead/

The Resturant has improved immensely since Matthew Boudreau took it over. Its true that it is not cheap and the menu is not huge. However, the quality of the food is excellent (as good as Vine Street IMHO) and the size of a menu is often inversely related to the quality of the food. The location is great for dining outside and we have always had an outdoor table. We have never had to wait 30 minutes for a table. Service in general has always been good particularly given the seasonal nature of wait staff on Shelter Island (we have had much worse service at Sunset Beach). I can't compare service to Sweet Tomato since we have never eaten there (we have so many good Italian resturants back in Manhattan).

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravellerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We have never checked in and checked out so fast. The quaint Inn supplied an Army of flies in the room. A bathroom that quickly wiped down at best. Go down to the water for some R & R good luck finding a clean and comfortable lounge. Bring your own towels the ones they supply would be graet at drying your hands at best. Don't forget the bug spray. If your planning on relaxing in the quaint sun room looks like someone forgot to declaw the Cat. Don't ask for any help from the satff as there is none. The person could'nt be bothered enough to give us equipment to go Kyacking. To add insult to injury the owner didn't have the good graces or common sense to appease us a bit.

You could not pay me $275.00 to stay at the Rams Head Inn so we are out at the Inn. Quaint does not equal shabbyness. Shame on the Rams Head Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Capsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We didn't stay at the Inn, but were told they had a lovely restaurant outside very close to the water, so we ventured there for dinner. The property was quite lovely, but the restaurant unfortunately was a let down.

Despite the fact that we called ahead and made a reservation, we still had to wait 30 minutes once we were there to be seated. This wouldn't have been so annoying had there not been numerous empty tables available the entire time we were waiting. Once seated, the menu itself offers only four dinner entrees to choose from at a fairly hefty price. This is definitely not a good place to dine if "variety" is what you're looking for.

The service unfortunately was the most disappointing. He was not attentive or helpful at all. We found ourselves having to ask for things that are usually givens at even lesser quality places. ("Do you have any specials? May we have some bread while we wait for our meal"? May we please have some salt & pepper? Etc.) Our food took an extraordinarily long time to come out with no apologies. Our meals were good, but at this point we were so put off by our experience that we didn't enjoy them as much as we could have.

We ate at a little place the evening before called the "Sweet Tomato". The food was amazing, the service was fantastic and for half the price of The Ram's Head Inn...I'd recommend you go there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank awaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed here for one night. We arrived on the 2nd to last cross sound ferry from CT then had dinner at Sunset Beach also on Shelter Island.

We arrived to the hotel around midnight and checked in. There were a few people around the bar: the restaurants Chef Boudreau, the bartender, and another woman who also worked at the hotel. My wife and I had a beer and stayed in the bar for another 2 hours. They were great hosts and gave us lots of tips about where to go in the Hamptons as well as New York City

The rooms were clean and nice, with good light. We stayed in a room with shared bath (down the hall), which had a sink in the room. It was very comfortable.

We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning, and sat in the hammock on the back part of the property.

I would recommend staying here; the staff was friendly and the hotel nice, the location beautiful. Unfortunately we had to leave after one night and had arrived too late at the hotel to enjoy dinner at the restaurant, which I hear is very good.

When arriving at night, Shelter Island is a bit confusing - bring a map or GPS!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nolatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

I stayed at the Ram's Head in July 2007 and had a lovely time. The Ram's Head is quite beautiful. The back of the building looks onto a large, sloping yard and is right on the water. There are hammocks (my fiance and I spent a couple of hours swinging on one, it was fun!) and a tennis court. We also took a lovely walk on the beach. We had breakfast overlooking the backyard and water and it was very lovely. Breakfast was decently priced.

Our room, although lovely and well-decorated, was extremely small. We paid around $200 per night to share a bathroom with a couple of other rooms. The bathroom was large and it wasn't a problem sharing with other guests. However, if I were to return, I would spend more money to have the bathroom en suite.

Although the B&B was full there were always parking spots available.

Overall, a very pleasant experience...I would certainly return!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helyn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Island, NY
796
Reviewed July 2, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights in the off season (after Labor Day).

What's great: the location! We felt like we were on a retreat, far from civilization. It's a quaint old Inn, in a very secluded area. We spent a lot of time relaxing and reading on the expansive front lawn with its great water view. It was serene and lovely. The breakfast was adequate and served in a pretty room. Our room was bright and comfortable. Also, Shelter Island itself is wonderful. We loved the laid-back, quiet atmosphere and the surrounding wildlife. (We saw deer every evening, fox, ospreys, etc.)

What's not so great: Our quiet weekend was almost ruined by the very LOUD music coming from a staff party upstairs. We went to the front lobby to complain but there was no one there! There was another couple there who were FURIOUS and also waiting for some help. It took quite a while for someone to show up. Doesn't seem like anyone's really running the show here. But, really, this place could be perfect with some attention.

  • Stayed: September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
4.2 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
241 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
72 reviews
5.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
5.4 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
631 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach
#5 of 5 in Shelter Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram's Head Inn

Address: 108 Ram Island Drive, Shelter Island, NY 11965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range: $105 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ram's Head Inn is a gracious center hall colonial with 17 charming and comfortable suites. It's a world apart, without being a world away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ram`s Head Hotel Shelter Island
Rams Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing