We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent property, mediocre staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ram's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ram's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent property, mediocre staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Inn is gorgeous - situated on a hill with a rolling lawn that leads down to private tennis courts and a private beach. The Inn is well maintained but beware the somewhat surly staff. A sure sign of absentee management. Continental breakfast is included but does not meet the standards of the hotel - small cardboard cereal boxes, jams in plastic containers, very little selection of nice breads and fruit. Rooms are beautiful and worth the steep price. We enjoyed our 3 night stay last week but would have appreciated more friendly and helpful staff, especially at front reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband were lucky enough to be at The Rams Head just a few weekends ago. It was such a lovely Inn. Our bedroom was clean and had a beautiful view of the rolling lawn and the bay.

We had received an email the restaurant would be closing for the season but when we arrived... it was open. We made 8:00 reservations and it was wonderful. We both enjoyed our dinner very much.

After dinner we enjoyed brandy on the deck outside, the weather was just starting to chill and again it was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, Ny
Level Contributor
248 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A wonderful old Inn with excellent destination restaurant - in the summer.
Romantic rolling lawn down to the bay on a lovely island near the Hamptons.
Very old fashioned - lots to do, but no TV.
Hammocks, a swing, and the beach...

And it is for sale, I believe, - here is hoping someone equally as talented buys and
maintains it.

Room Tip: Remember it is an OLD inn so be sure to ask questions about speciffic concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SagHarborAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is not your kid's vacation. In fact, the rooms don't even have TV's. There's one in the TV/den room. There are only 17 rooms and some have to share a bathroom. Mine didn't. If you are looking to get away from the stresses of life then you found the right place. This is quiet elegance of days gone by. Peaceful serenity abounds here. Only on Sunday nights does things heat up with some local classical music entertainment. We only stayed 3 nights and ate in the hotel one evening. It was an excellent meal at a table on the porch overlooking the water and the sunset. I would recommend this for either a romantic getaway or for a rest and relaxation vacation away from one's daily hustle and bustle. There are no shortage of fine restaurants on Shelter Island so consider this locale for a quick driveable vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for your own bathroom with a queen or king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Having enjoyed a relaxing weekend on Shelter Island at the wonderful Inn at Chase Creek in the fall of 2010, we decided to return to Shelter Island with our kids this past August. For our return visit we needed a place to accommodate a family of four and the Ram's Head Inn seemed to fit the bill. We were not disappointed.

This is a great old place with beautiful grounds, its own private beach and a restaurant on site in case you decide not to venture into town (though, be warned, it's not intended for the budget conscious). The staff was very friendly and available and the rooms were clean and well appointed. Keep in mind that this is essentially a plus sized B&B so don't expect a TV in every room with free HBO and 24 hour room service.

So, if you're looking a for a quiet and relaxing stay on Shelter Island with the family, the Ram's Head Inn is the place to stay,

Room Tip: A room facing the grounds avoids having to hear cars pulling up the pebble driveway and drowning you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DennisC_LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great inn with huge yard and beach. A bit shabby chic. Great restaurant too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosphorus104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Beautiful property overlooking water. Staff was helpful and professional. Our room was immaculate....(but tiny...not sure if some rooms are bigger.) We had dinner one night at restaurant, and it was excellent with interesting local wines. Only disappointment was breakfast (included in room rate) which was dreary buffet of dry and instant cereals and ordinary pastry. Hotel is old so you hear people going in and out of rooms, but this wasn't a problem for us, and we will go again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
3.4 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
16.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach
#5 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram's Head Inn

Property: Ram's Head Inn
Address: 108 Ram Island Drive, Shelter Island, NY 11965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ram's Head Inn is a gracious center hall colonial with 17 charming and comfortable suites. It's a world apart, without being a world away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ram`s Head Hotel Shelter Island
Rams Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing