We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”
Review of Dering Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dering Harbor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
east williston, ny
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom waterfront room. The room was very nice, very homey. Quiet location. Without a doubt the main reason to stay here are the views. Spectacular location. Beautiful sunsets. The staff was very nice. Only minor complaint is that there is no restaurant on property. Forces you to go out for breakfast. Many good places to eat on island and Greenport. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished differently. Look at the web pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronmofew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Shelter Island is magical and Dering Harbor Inn is one of the island's most beautiful spots. Perched on a bluff overlooking the North Fork, the views of the harbor and sunsets are stunning. It is the perfect spot to get away and relax. My family and I took over the Inn for my wedding weekend in September and I can not imagine a more wonderful place to celebrate and have a family reunion. Besides the magnificent property the rooms are great too - ranging from studios to 2 bedroom villas, the accommodations work well for couples, families, and friends that want to share (Note: Unit #9 was my bridal suite and it was perfect!). The staff is amazing too - Sherri and Barbara in the office treat you like you are a guest in their own house. They are always unbelievably friendly and ready to help you with anything needed from extra towels to a golf cart to move wedding supplies. The Inn also has a great pool and gym. Conveniently located between the North Fork and South Fork allows for easy access to the best of Long Island - the wineries to the North and swanky Hamptons activities to South, but then you get to home to a little slice of heavan. I really can't say enough good things about Dering Harbor Inn. My husband and I are looking forward to visiting for many years to come!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually owned so furnishings and decor vary. Check the website for pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Recently I was fortunate enough to stay in a one bedroom harbor facing villa which was attractively decorated, well priced, and had a magnificent view of the harbor and Greenport. The reason that my visit was so memorable was that I left the top down on my convertible which was parked in the lot behind my villa. Although there was "no chance of precipitation", needless to say, it did rain. I received a call from Barbara (assistant. manager) telling me that it was raining and that I would need to hurry and get my top up. Although I would have eventually noticed the rain, it was a tremendous gesture and shows the personal attention that one is afforded at the Dering Harbor Inn. Hats off to Barbara and the entire crew. I will def. return. Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Absolutely love this place! My husband and I have been staying here almost every summer for the past 5 years and it is our slice of heaven. Wonderfully situated property...right on the harbor. Sherri and Barbara who basically run the place, could not be more warm and accommodating!!! While the architecture is a bit outdated, the comforts and surroundings of the place far out weigh that. I would highly recommend Dering Harbor Inn anytime and will be going back to stay for years to come!

Room Tip: Room #19 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in Suite 17 for a few days to relax. The location is perfection. As others have mentioned the view of the harbor is just beautiful. The staff is friendly and very helpful with suggestions on what to do in the area.

Shelter Island is a magical place and what Martha Vineyard was years ago before the tourists.
I am almost afraid to give this review because I don't want my "hidden gem" to be discovered.
When I need to relax I close my eyes and just picture that beautiful harbor and take a deep breath and almost can smell the sea....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl123z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Overlooking iconic Dering Harbor on Shelter Island we never tired of the view and the changing play of light - dawn to night – from our living room and porch – around the lawn, plantings and trees at the Dering Harbor Inn. As New Yorkers we were tempted just to gaze, but in our 4 days we gave in to walking, running, biking, driving the Island and even exploring and enjoying the North Fork.

No food but a great array of eating spots are nearby as are stores for whatever you want to cook at home.

The 15 individually owned condominium units are clearly displayed at www.deringharborinn.net so you know exactly what you’re getting - much more private space than a B&B. Units are impeccably maintained to a high standard by a caring and friendly staff. Sherry responds instantly to any query or need. This was our second visit, 9/12 and 6/13, at fall/spring rates and before they were all booked up. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nubia2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in Suites 17 & 18 for a girl's weekend away to celebrate my 30th birthday. The staff was helpful and friendly. Both suites were beautiful, clean and quiet. They were much larger than they appear in the pictures on the website. The location is fantastic. We all live in NYC and do not have cars. Dering Harbor Inn is located close to the ferry (1/2 mile-short cab ride, but you could also walk) and close to restaurants, groceries and shopping. They have bicycles available to rent at the Inn at very reasonable prices. We biked to Crescent Beach and spent time by the lovely pool. The Inn provides Beach Towels and daily housekeeping- even for the suites. I highly recommend this place and plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brwneyedgirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelter Island
0.9 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
234 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dering Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dering Harbor Inn

Property: Dering Harbor Inn
Address: 13 Winthrop Road, Shelter Island, NY 11965
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Shelter Island, overlooking the picturesque harbor from which it takes its name the Dering Harbor Inn is the ideal place to come and settle in. Private and discreet, it's array of waterfront villas and suites, scenically situated pristine heated swimming pool, Fitness Center with tennis courts, dock and over seven acres of walkabout space give our guests room to relax, reflect and rejuvenate. The accommodations are deluxe and individually unique, and the ambiance tranquil and unhurried – a pace that has been the hallmark of Shelter Island to this day and is why it is so rightfully referred to as the "un-Hamptons". In a superb location...within a five minute walking distance to main village where you'll find restaurants/bars, markets, shops, bike rentals. Only two hours from New York, accessible by a short ferry ride, the Dering Harbor Inn patiently awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dering Harbor Hotel Shelter Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing