We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger night”

The Tavern at Shelter Island House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tavern at Shelter Island House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Neck Road
Transit: Train: www.lirr.org Penn Station to Greenport, then board the ferry to Shelter Island. Bus: Take The Hampton Jitney www.hamptonjitney.com to Greenport, then board the ferry to Shelter Island.
Description: Dedication to local farmers and fishermen ensure the dishes celebrate freshness and inspiration. New American style menu is complemented by handcrafted cocktails, world beers and a meticulously curated wine list to round out your exceptional dining experience. Seasonally driven menus and ambiance change from al fresco to fireside and accompany the re-freshed chic decor. Known as the island hotspot conjoined with the welcoming team that is both local and family owned makes Shelter Island House Restaurant your best island destination for friendly sophistication.
sheter island, ny
1 review
“Burger night”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

i went to burger night thursday - february 28. the food was delicious (they make the best frites) and the service was outstanding. our server was very familiar with wine choices. prices were reasonable. very cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisys75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loucaz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have had bad luck in the past dining at the hotels where I am staying but this... this food was amazing!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank loucaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could have been much better”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Perhaps December is not the time to visit La Maison Blanche. We went to dinner with friends who have never been there before and their comment was "We have now been there twice-the first and last time". The service was prompt as there was only 1 other table besides us, however the food was overpriced and my calamari was way overcooked as many pieces came blackened. The hamburger was $18.00 served with what I consider Mac Donald's french fries. The menu was lacking and for a Saturday night, there were no specials and no fresh fish entrees which was a disappointment for my husband as he always orders fish..
Overall, a very disappointing dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parrotrescue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great French foot”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

It does not often happen in the US but the food really tested like what you would get in France.
It was a little bit expensive but delicious

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Relaxing get away.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent Friday and Saturday night here, with a groupon deal I had found. So worth the trip from New Jersey. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and informative, and the food at the restaurant was delicious. The food was pricey, but well worth it! And our waitress was wonderful! After dinner we went to the bar and had a few drinks. The bartender was so nice, and told us about the island, and to definitely visit greenport. Wish we could have stayed longer! Will definitely be back, and maybe even bring the kids!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vsmith118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern at Shelter Island House also viewed

Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island Heights, Shelter Island
 

Been to The Tavern at Shelter Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing