We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go At Once!!”

The Tavern at Shelter Island House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Tavern at Shelter Island House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Neck Road
Transit: Train: www.lirr.org Penn Station to Greenport, then board the ferry to Shelter Island. Bus: Take The Hampton Jitney www.hamptonjitney.com to Greenport, then board the ferry to Shelter Island.
Description: Dedication to local farmers and fishermen ensure the dishes celebrate freshness and inspiration. New American style menu is complemented by handcrafted cocktails, world beers and a meticulously curated wine list to round out your exceptional dining experience. Seasonally driven menus and ambiance change from al fresco to fireside and accompany the re-freshed chic decor. Known as the island hotspot conjoined with the welcoming team that is both local and family owned makes Shelter Island House Restaurant your best island destination for friendly sophistication.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had the most wonderful dinner here- scallops, mussels, lobster salad, ricotta appetizer, calamari, meat plate... just divine!! The staff was attentive, the setting simply lovely... the outside porch is delightful and the inside bar/lounge is quaint and homey- can't wait to return there this winter for a drink by the fire. Were able to see the room for large parties and it is so tastefully designed and comfortable at the same time. If you are visiting the East End... La Maison Blanche is a CAN"T MISS!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TayeTaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for The Tavern at Shelter Island House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had brunch at La Maison Blanche with my family last month. We ate outside on the covered porch overlooking the pool. It was a lovely and quiet spot.
There were 9 of us from 2-year-olds up through Grandparents and there was something for everyone to eat. Everything from chicken fingers to escargot. I went out on a limb and tried the lamb burger, which was delicious. They also have really yummy fries, which were especially a hit with the kids. (Ok, with the adults, too.) Some of the other dishes we ordered were the lobster roll sandwich, a hamburger, warmed ricotta cheese with herbs and sea salt as an appetizer, and a croque monsieur sandwich; a good variety and all delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gwen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Owner at The Tavern at Shelter Island House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear gwen a,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to our award winning restaurant.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and the idyllic setting.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed a lively meal of escargot, mussels and beautifully prepared salads made from local produce. They have an excellent list with wine from Long Island.
Outdoor dining on a lovely covered deck overlooking gardens.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephaniegould77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Owner at The Tavern at Shelter Island House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Stephaniegould77,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after visiting our restaurant recently.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our award winning cuisine as well as the idyllic setting.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming fall offers promotions in our restaurant.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were staying at the Dering harbour Inn on Shelter Island, but wanted to check this one out as it had originally been one of our options. Its a nice place, smaller than we thought, in a residential area, in what probably was a "normal" house before. Nicely decorated, white of course true to its name. Small pool, with nice lounge chairs. Annex building in the garden. Beatiful flowers in the garden. So we had lunch on the veranda next to the pool. A bot too hot, but ok it was a steamy day. Good lunch, nothong exciting, nice french fries though, home made for sure.
Maybe the diner is more special? See also my review of dering harbor inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tvanhalewijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair M, Owner at The Tavern at Shelter Island House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear tvanhalewijn,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to our restaurant.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the restaurant as well as its idyllic setting.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are coming to Shelter Island for few years now, and I was looking forward to a new kid on the block - La Maison Blanche, that'd opened last summer. I've read poor reviews in local papers back then, and thought to myself - let's give it some time to start things right. This summer is their second - we tried it - and I have no desire to go back. ...Just average. There were 3 of us. Lunch 1pm on Saturday. And the verdict was universal - "nothing to write home about"/ In addition to lobster salad from frozen soggy lobster and tastless mayo, the lamb burger was just so-so. The presentation is average, the dining room is very small and feels claustrouphobic, not chick. The bathroom is very tiny and doesn't live to the fancy french name of the establishment. Rather provincial - not french provincial, but provincial provincial ( well, on the other thought - it feels like in France - where the bathroom up untill recently was considered "lowly" and not worthy the attention - well travelled people will know what I mean...). The stuff is poorly trained, no proper greeting, no proper goodbye, nothing.. we walk in and walk out , the hostess doesn't really care ( and the place is almost empty on 1pm Saturday !).. Perhaps, if you need some kind of a private room for 4-5 people , and don't mind the mediocre food and service - this place will be appropriate . If this is not your case - you'll feel not welcomed there, and in addition, with all the bustling restaurant scene of Shelter Island on weekends, you'll feel that you're wasting your time.... It's a pity. ( On the positive note - the bakery- boulangerie - is a hit! great croissants, and they are open at 7 am in the morning!)/

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank glamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern at Shelter Island House also viewed

Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island Heights, Shelter Island
 

Been to The Tavern at Shelter Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing