We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy, Fun, a Treat”
Review of 18 Bay

18 Bay
Reserve with OpenTable
18 Bay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Duvall Rd.
Description: 18 Bay is a Chef owned and operated restaurant. We serve a four course Italian inspired Chefs menu that is a direct reflection of the local markets. Dinner begins with four different antipasti, followed by a handmade pasta, a choice of entree and dessert. The menu changes every week. We make handcrafted cocktails using organic syrups, serve local wine including two on tap, as well as international wines from small producers. We offer a vegetarian menu and accommodate for any allergies or aversions. We look forward to sharing with you our interpretation of the best of our terroir.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy, Fun, a Treat”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The food is wonderful and so many courses for a reasonable price. Everything fresh and delsih and the setting is so sweet and pretty. The specialty cocktails are marvelous. And the service is perfect - knowledgable, attentive, unhurried. Worth the drive!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    19
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Victims of their own popularity”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

It is quite place in someone's old home, with tablecloth and the weekly set menu. reasonable, in comparison to other places on Shelter Island.
They were very popular when they just opened, and this seems to be the problem now.The food is average, despite all the hype. Four appetizers that are presented as a tasting platter, are very " junior" in execution and the overall concept. Mushroom on a cracker was falling apart, the spicy sauce was out of place, although very tasty and delicious by itself. Main courses were executed in a more mature way, although whole berries of black currant on a pork was rather strange. Overall - good place for good meal. Lower your expectations and relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank glamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow on Shelter Island”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous birthday dinner at 18 Bay and were highly impressed by the quality of the food. Local ingredients and wines and the menu changes every week. These chefs really know how to please discerning diners. It is fully deserving of the highest rating in tripadvisor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Shelter Island Gem”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

After reading the NY Times review, we decided to try it. Dinner is a prix fix 4 course tasting menu with only choices of entree. The four antipasti is served in a four section dish and of the four, their quail was the best we've ever eaten and their truffle potato was amazing. The pasta course was a little disappointing but the entree fluke was excellent. Their was a choice of two desserts, and when we asked for something lighter, they gladly made up a fruit plate
Service was excellent and we will return for a special occasion meal

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qwickrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very original, great for tasting lots of dishes”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a Prix Fixe restaurant only, with a twist. You get 4 appetizers, somewhere in between a "small plate" and a full size appetizer, a pasta course and a main course and dessert, all for $55.

The food and dishes all use super fresh local ingredients and are inventive, but moist of all tasty.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 18 Bay also viewed

Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Shelter Island Heights, Shelter Island
 
Greenport, North Fork
Shelter Island Heights, Shelter Island
 

Been to 18 Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing