We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a hike”
Review of Mashomack Preserve

Mashomack Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Nature Conservancy property spans 2,100 acres, and accounts for one-third of the land on Shelter Island.
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take a hike”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great, well marked, hiking trails. Good to go preseason to avoid ticks, but not as much wildlife as I hoped to see. Modest donation accepted. Well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware-infested with ticks in spring/summer”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Despite wearing long pants,tucked into socks etc-and staying on well marked paths-we were pulling ticks off ourselves days later. Not worth the risk,which is a shame b/c it's lovely-AVOID.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanparker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hiking, birdwatching, special events”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good mostly level hiking with options for different hike lengths. Children can handle the shorter hikes. I prefer hike trails that take you near the water. Great place for bird watching. Their special events are often worth planning for -- canoe trips, boat trips, animal "visits", evening programs, etc. Note that it is ALWAYS hotter hiking here because of the inland hiking and unshaded areas than the rest of the island, which typically gets more of a breeze. Also, Lyme Disease is no joke - it was isolated to Shelter Island and many islanders/visitors have gotten it. This part of the island is tick central -- wear repellent and long pants and/or high boots/socks and a hat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinemasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A big part of Shelter Island”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This reserve area constitutes about 30% of the island. Most of t appears to be in pristine condition. It is a good hiking area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AUSSIE4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hiker and birder-friendly”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I make a point of visiting Mashomack every time we're at Shelter Island. I love the composting toilets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashomack Preserve also viewed

 
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 

Been to Mashomack Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing