We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home doesn't even sum up the visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharon Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New York House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My first experience at a Bed and Breakfast. It was the most wonderful nights sleep and the best breakfast ever. The Host and Hostess are kind and welcoming. They have set a very high standard for any future B & B I should stay at. Next visit already scheduled. A must try!!!

Room Tip: All are GREAT rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1965TreeHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for New York House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Kelly and Bruce are great hosts. Breakfast was wonderful. The New York is beautiful and a great piece of history to stay in. We are going back next year! It is very comfortable. There was plenty of space for my friends and I in a suite. Sharon springs is
magical. We will continue to stay at the New York.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennloutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our third stay this year and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Sharon Springs! Love being greeted as old friends instead of just another customer. Nothing like being awakened by the aroma of fresh blueberry and blue cheese and bacon scones! The variety of breakfast items is so unlike any other B and B we've stayed at. Quiche, breakfast pizza, cake, breads and cereals. The location is great, just a block off Main Street. Slept like,a baby! Love sitting on the porch with all the other guests. Have made so many friends that we love catching up with every year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

In January 2013, I made a reservation by email for my daughter and myself with the New York House B&B for the December 2013 Sharon Springs Holiday Celebration weekend, since we had stayed there previously They confirmed the reservation by email. In May, when I was at the Garden Party in Sharon Springs, I stopped by the inn to visit and mentioned the reservation. Kelly Button, the owner said she had no recollection of it and that they had a group who reserved the inn for that weekend, but that if I had proof of the reservation, they would honor it. When I returned home, I forwarded her the email exchange and confirmation of my reservation. She replied that they would honor it.

A few weeks later, however, I received an email from her stating that the room was not, in fact, available and that my resevation was cancelled. She added that she hoped this would not be an inconvenience. I replied that since it was obvious that I had made my reservation well before the others, I expected her to honor it. She has not replied. Due to this inappropriate and unprofessional cancelation of our long-standing reservation, my daughter and I will not be attending the Holiday Celebration, since there is no other lodging available for us at this point. Needless to say, we are both extremely disappointed.

Sharon Springs prides itself on being a homey, welcoming community, and that has been my experience every time I have visited, including twice for past Holiday Celebrations. The innkeepers of the New York House do not belong in Sharon Springs, since they tarnish the reputation of the entire village. I would recommend that anyone looking for the real Sharon Springs experience avoid this inn at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank victorianmodiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceB58, Owner at New York House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

In this case we had to take a room out of our availability because of family circumstances. We did notify Jo well in advance of her stay that this was not available anymore.
When circumstances reversed themselves, we offered the room to her again and at a reduced price for the inconvenience, but she refused the offer. The date she is looking for is this coming December , so there was still plenty of time to make a change if necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just came back from a three day trip to Sharon Springs, NY. While there we stayed at The New York House Bed & Breakfast. This was a little treasure waiting for us to discover it, and we are delighted with our experience there. The Inn keepers, Kelly and her husband Bruce were so friendly and knowledgeable about the history of Sharon Springs. They filled us in on things to do in the area while imparting to us the history of this delightful village.
Their B&B was beautifully furnished with lovely antiques but it was so comfortable that it truly a felt like a home away from home. Kelly is a superb cook and baker. Her breakfasts consisted of delicious dishes such as fruit cobbler, bowls of fresh fruit salad, homemade scones, homemade jams, quiche fresh from the oven, etc. Kelly and her husband spent time in the breakfast room getting to know their guests. Their friendly conversation led to all the guests getting to know each other. They really set an atmosphere of friendship and happiness in their B&B. The beds were extremely comfortable, the air conditioners worked beautifully, The soaps and shampoos in the shower were wonderful. This lovely B&B was a five star experience for us. We are so happy that we chose to stay in this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: Whoops! I clicked on a fitness center by accident and can't seem to unclick this. There isn'...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a lovely old house that was beautifully fixed up. Owners very present and helpful. Rooms were cute with comfortable beds. Breakfast was notable for delicious baked goods - I'd stay there again!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank katiepenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Beautiful renovated house and very nice Innkeepers. Absolutely loved the front porch! Our room was sunny, clean and very fresh smelling. The bed was so comfortable you wanted to stay in it forever. We had a window air conditioner, but no TV.

Unfortunately upon entering the house the first thing we noticed was a strong odor of dogs. You watch TV in their living room downstairs and once again the strong dog odor was everywhere. The chairs, the sofa, the pillows, the throws.....it was very overwhelming. To be fair, we do not have animals so maybe we were overly sensitive.

For breakfast we had coffee, hot tea, hot chocolate, instant oatmeal and two different dry cereals along with orange juice, grape juice and whole milk. Kelly also had a fresh baked good everyday that was delicious.

We were never told of complimentary snack or drinks nor did we have fresh lemonade on the porch as other reviewers stated.

I know they have owned the B & B for a short time, so the opportunity to make this an excellent place to stay is in their future.

I just felt other non-animals should be aware.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharon Springs
11.1 mi away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
297 reviews
19.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
17.1 mi away
The Inn at Cooperstown
The Inn at Cooperstown
#1 of 16 in Cooperstown
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#2 of 16 in Cooperstown
646 reviews
17.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#1 of 29 in Cooperstown
340 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 110 Center St, Sharon Springs, NY 13459-2500 (Formerly New Yorker Guest House)
Location: United States > New York > Sharon Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sharon Springs
Price Range: $100 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York House is a Bed & Breakfast in a former boarding house built in 1885. Located in the quaint village of Sharon Springs, we are near the Mohawk Valley, Schoharie Valley and Cooperstown areas. Restaurants and shops are within walking distance of our large front porch. Relax in one of our 7 rooms with private baths and enjoy the area! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing