We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent -”

204 Main Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent -”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The 204 Main Bar & Bistro is a gem in the small town of Sharon Springs, NY which is about a 1/2 hour from Cooperstown, NY. My family travels to the Cooperstown area two to three times per year and since the Bistro opened, we go for several meals during our 5 day weekends in upstate NY. It is our favorite restaurant in the area. The food is tremendous, the service is impeccable and the restaurant is spotless. We were in town a couple of weekends ago and had dinner three nights at the Bistro. The dates stuffed with almonds and wrapped in bacon appetizer served over a bed of greens are fantastic. There was a new appetizer called gnudi (a type of gnocci) which melted in our mouths. We ate schnitzel, beef short ribs and sausage dinners which are our favorites! The panna cotta (a flan like desert) with caramel sauce was a 10 out of 10. If in the Cooperstown area, the Bistro is a MUST-STOP for a scrumptious dinner and lovely atmosphere! We are never disappointed and dinners at the Bistro is one of the highlights of our trips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yojudidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and waitstaff”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The 204 has a genius menu of items, which when served to you never disappoints. The quality, taste and presentation of the food is beyond amazing. I have tried almost everything on the menu and they are all my favorite. The desserts are a must have! The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable . Every visit has been delightful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Quaint & Friendly”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was tasty and the staff did not rush you out the door. The bartender gave us history of the establishment and town. They made sure my meal was gluten free and the roasted garlic tomato soup was to die for.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ambush53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very good food a little pricey for portion size”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food was very good and the chino taco was excellent , the gnudi was good but we felt it was priced way too high for its size and they didn't have much bread and the bread was excellent . We will return in the future as it was a good meal although some things were pricey

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linkphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Order Everything!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Living an hour away, we often pass the exit for Sharon Springs on the NY Thruway. We're well aware of the Fabulous Beekman Boys fame and the reported resurgence of the town but this was our first visit. Our party of four ordered lunch from the short menu and we're only sorry we didn't order one of everything, although we did come close. Every dish of the five entrees, a soup, and two deserts we ordered was wonderful. We simply passed the plates around. Next time we'll simply ask them to bring one of everything.

It's a very pretty room in an old restored building. The wine list is short but well rounded and reasonably priced.

We spent an hour or so in the village and don't understand the fuss. It really isn't a vacation destination. But if you're on the Thruway, make the 20-mile round-trip detour to this restaurant; you won't be sorry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigD062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 204 Main Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 204 Main Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing