We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
147
23
4
1
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
23
4
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beekman boys upstate new york american history historic hotel room cost grand porch breakfast was included quaint town lobby bar cooperstown hosts rebirth lodging linens manhattan
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 182 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Wining, dining, and overnighting at the American Hotel has been on my bucket list for some time. After shopping in the cute stores across the street, my husband and I had a glorious late afternoon of sipping wine on the patio. Then it was on to dinner, which was superb--I live in New Orleans, which is a foodie town, and the food at the American Hotel could definitely compete (and win!) when compared to the chefs here! No surprise to me that the restaurant at the American Hotel has won so many awards! It was an easy climb up the stairs to our room, which was surprisingly large, comfortable, quiet, and cool (thanks to AC) considering that this inn is 176 years old. Doug and Garth have made this a unique and magical place to stay. They are also the best hosts I've ever encountered, treating every person there like they've known them forever. Angelina was warm and welcoming at the check in desk and we loved how she later was a server for dinner in the restaurant and served us breakfast the following morning, which by the way, was one of the best ever (and is included in the room rate)--on the patio with perfectly prepared french toast covered in sweet strawberries and served with Stagecoach coffee. The American Hotel and its hosts and staff made us feel right at home and it was great to step back in time, to a place and time when you use an actual key to access your room and receive personalized attention and extraordinary service. We did not want to leave and plan to come back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

Arrived on a very late rainy afternoon in day 5 of my “bicycle across USA” trip to find the hotel closed but the staff working in the kitchen. I walked over and asked about a room. They called the owners who said OK. What followed was magical! I had the entire hotel to myself, Lee (the chef) prepared a faboulous dinner for me (cream of asparagus soup to die for!). I met both Garth and Doug (the owners) that evening and spent an entire hour over breakfast, the next morning, chatting with Doug.

Apart from the beauty of its interior, its charm includes old (perhaps original) wooden floors and beautiful subdued lighting. My room (the one with the plates above the bedboard) was airy and held a surprise: the floor is slightly tilted towards the door.

Look forward to a return visit with my wife and learn more about their projects for Sharon Springs!

Room Tip: The only discriminator is street side versus garden side. There is some (limited) traffic on Main Street.
Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
Thank smigliuolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We stayed 3 nights in a double room that included full breakfasts. Doug and Garth are charming hosts and all staff, especially Austin, added to the enjoyable atmosphere. Breakfasts were delicious with many options - featuring local products. Dinner is also recommended as steaks were perfectly prepared. Lobby/bar were great place to have a cocktail. Bath products from Beekman 1802.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018

So, Sharon Springs is little village in the Catskill Mts..where years ago, folks from NYC would come visit to take on the Sulphur waters..it looked like a magical place back then....the village has come alive again with some very interesting inhabitants...there was and now is the American Hotel, a beautiful old hotel bought and refurbished to its former glory..Its just beautiful inside and out..i love outdoor eating and the garden area is lovely..the food is wonderful, as is the service as you would expect from a grand place..a total historical gem..

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 193lolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a destination for two reasons. First, it’s a beautifully restored 19th century beauty that’s comfortable and charming but not so fancy that you can’t be casual and enjoy yourself. Second, the restaurant serves delicious food served in imaginative ways in a beautiful dining room. The bar area is eclectic and inviting. The hosts, Doug and Garth are personable, welcoming and seem to make sure that all the guests are enjoying themselves. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank paullI3420GJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews