We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”
Review of The American Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sharon Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The American Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sharon Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

A weekend at The American is a homecoming/reunion/european getaway/gastropub delight! Everyone makes you feel like you are the most important guest. Rooms are cozy and have all the modern amenities you need to feel at home. Hanging out in the lobby is like a trip to a Bedford Falls version of a bus stop, so many amazing and interesting folks and conversations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottgillanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    19
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
86
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here for just one night after getting married in Vermont. My sisters had arranged for flowers etc to help us celebrate ,it was an elopement, anyway the whole staff knew and made us feel like celebrities. It's a very special place

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We made reservations for a night, with eating a meal there also in mind, as there isn't anything much else in town. We were told the restaurant wasn't open to us, or the lobby area for lounging, as they had a wedding dinner rehearsal party there that night. We were booted right out! We did get a referral to another place to eat, about 10 miles away. Not what we had in mind. The rooms, although refurbished, are still very old and very, very small. No place to just sit and relax. The front porch area was nice to drink a glass of wine. Doug, an owner, was very nice, and he did reduce our rate due to being sent elsewhere to eat. The breakfast was very good... pleasant place, but not for a return trip....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retirednovember2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the American Hotel with a group of friends. Rooms are nicely appointed with bathrooms that are modern & spacious by B&B standards. Beekman soaps were a nice touch. Full breakfast is included and choices are varied and delicious. Be sure to make reservations for dinner - the food was wonderful! The small bar in the lobby is inviting, and there are comfortable sitting areas on the front porch, back terrace, and adjacent to the bar. Hosts Garth and Doug, assisted by Heidi, made sure that we were comfortable throughout our stay. We enjoyed browsing the shops in Sharon Springs as well as visiting nearby Fly Creek Cider Mill and Cooperstown for lunch by the lake. A very relaxing weekend getaway. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjc8412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had obviously seen the hotel featured/mentioned on "The Beekman Boys" show for the past two seasons and we had decided to finally head on up. A call around 1pm had us confirmed for a dog friendly room later that afternoon.

Check in was quick and easy. Room as nice and thankfully not a frilly, doily clad grandma kind of room. That was the one thing I was worried about. We were the only guest room on the 1st floor. This room is the handicapped room/dog friendly room and had a private door to the porch. This door was quite useful when your dog is nervous and wants to go outside in the middle of the night.

As you can see in my photos the room is nice and large and I do love a big bathroom.

Garth, who checked us in, and his partner Doug were super sweet and made sure you were really comfortable and great to chat with. It was actually Doug's birthday the night we were at the American and still he was working, mingling, being the life of the party.

Dinner was FANTASTIC. If you are that interested to know what we had just ask me. I wrote it all down. I will say if you can try Garth's Red Velvet Cake; GET IT!!!

After dinner we ended up in the bar/lounge area. Talked for what felt like hours to couples from 3 other rooms. 2 of the couples were from out of town and 1 was from an hour away but they were celebrating a birthday as well. Everyone in that hotel was really genuine and nice and I would gladly go back.

Complimentary breakfast was also very nice.

Room Tip: Our trip was spontaneous so we were able to get Rm #1 for us and our dog. They love dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintlyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the American for 2 absolutely wonderful nights. Our room (faced the back yard) was so relaxing with light green walls and beautiful antiques. It was spotlessly clean and very inviting. The food was so delicious and plentiful. You do not leave the table hungry. We started off the meal with sharing an appetizer, and then ordered our meal. It was so good that we stuffed ourselves to finish and then shared a dessert (Crème Brulée -- yummy!). Breakfast is also served in the same beautiful dining room that dinner is served in. You are given a menu of gourmet breakfast choices that are unbelievable. The owners, Garth and Doug, and all of their staff are welcoming and make you feel as though you have known them all for a lifetime. This hotel should be on everyone's list to visit. I wish the rating would be 10 stars because I don't think 5 stars are enough! Congratulations to both Garth and Doug for such a fantastic job in restoring the beautiful American Hotel! See you next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were visiting the area, partcularly the Baseball Hall of Fame (Which is exactly what you might expect a Baseball Hall of Fame to be). Luckily it was a special Opera weekend and Cooperstown had no room at the inn, any of them. I found The American Hotel in Sharon Springs NY on line and was thrilled. The hotel is lovely. The gardens and porches wonderful for reading and coffee sipping.. the little bar has a good wine selection, the dinning room is marvelous. Make dinner reservations, you will be very glad you did. Everything is Coopertown is covered with katsup and Louisville Slugger Logos. The American Hotel is a warm, charming haven tucked in a tiny town and run by two gentlemen, Doug and Garth, who genuinely enjoy the company of their guests. Pair that with the wonderful restaurant and what is not to love?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaThatsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharon Springs
11.0 mi away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
16.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
19.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
16.8 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Hotel

Property: The American Hotel
Address: 192 Main St, Sharon Springs, NY 13459-3136
Location: United States > New York > Sharon Springs
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sharon Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The American Hotel, Sharon Springs Hotel Sharon Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing