We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING donuts!!!”

Black Cat Cafe and Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Now in our 13th year, and a mainstay of Sharon Springs' historic Main Street Black Cat offers high quality, innovative food made with local and organic ingredients whenever possible. Widely-known for our delectable desserts and breads. Indoor and outdoor seating and exceptional and attentive service!
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING donuts!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've been to the Black Cat twice now and we will definitely be back! The donuts are literally the most amazing donuts you will ever eat in your entire life!! I don't care if you are on the strictest diet in the world, you HAVE TO have one!!! (Or order a dozen to be made on the spot like we did!!!) Soups are delicious, sandwiches are delicious...nothing negative to say at all! Love this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ETA1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    49
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our little secret”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place is our little secret. The place is nestled in a little herb garden and the worn floors and wide windows are like a hug as you snuggle into old porcelain topped tables. The service is great, the baked goods are fresh and hot and the coffee is perfection; featuring real lattes and cappuccinos made properly. Breakfast is always fabulous and fresh and the "Mitch and Mathew Bagel" is my personal fave featuring a toasted everything bagel, fresh lemon squeeze, capers, scallions and salmon. This is the kind of experience you read about where everyone knows your name and face..they ask how you are and remember details about your life, instead of that anonymous, corporate experience every town has. This is small town warmth at it's best. We love it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyslipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wicked good donuts”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

All the baked goods were excellent! Donuts were finger licking good! Walnut apple muffins best we ever had

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Black Cat is a very cozy cafe/bakery. The sandwiches are really large and very tasty. They are more than happy to make special requests happen. The sandwiches are really large and I find eating a half with the soup is alot. The soups are homemade, fresh, hot and really tasty. The portions are very generous. The corned beef in the Reuben is extremely generous, thick and tender. The desserts, if you have room, are all homemade and really yummy. The lemon cake, carrot cake and coconut cake are all really delicious. Not too sweet, but just right. The cafe is cool in the winter, but once you begin to eat it works. Large selection of teas. It is a must stop on your way by on 20 or on your way to the Arkell Art Museum/Library in Canajoharie. Say hello to Tony (owner) he and his crew work very hard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great soup and sandwich”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The food at the Black Cat is terrific- we had wonderful homemade soups and split the largest Tuscan Chicken panini that was to die for. The old building has charm - but no heat! So don't sit against the outside walls in the winter, but definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coopmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Black Cat Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing