We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Support our locally owned businesses.”
Review of O'Leary's Pub & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O'Leary's Pub & Grill
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Scotia, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Support our locally owned businesses.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After an evening out at the Scotia Cinema, a refreshing change from the multiscreen Cineplex's in the malls, it's a short walk down Mohawk Avenue to O'Leary's in the now famous village of Scotia where a recent Hollywood movie was shot, "A Place in the Pines"
It's okay even for the healthy eater to occasionally treat ones self to some pub food. My favorite is the Smasher: Hot roast beef with melted Swiss cheese topped with a hash brown potato and coleslaw on a fresh roll. It is served with regular fries, sweet potato fries or onion rings. The waitress did not ask my choice and I forgot to tell her I wanted onion rings. I accepted the fries which were excellent nonetheless. The place is small ,cozy and comfortable and a perfect cap to a night out to the movies. businesses

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome pub with family-friendly restaurant section”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is just wonderful. In the summer, they have some outdoor seating which overlooks Mohawk Avenue and is great for sitting out on a nice summer night. You can find seating in the diner area if you want to keep to yourself, or sit in the bar or outdoors if you wish to be social and strike up conversations with strangers or just laugh loudly with friends. The food is great, and has a decent selection for a pub, and the bar service is outstanding. You can eat at the bar (they have special bar plates that attach to the bar) or in the seating area. We have been there with a group of friends to have a good time, and we've also taken our children there and the staff was kind and accommodating (we sat in the restaurant section). Everyone who goes here loves this place and keeps coming back! It's a genuine hometown pub that's worth a visit!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit Before the Movies”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed our visit here. The food is very much pub food - which is not really my favorite due to deep fried preparation, but if you like this, I am sure it would be an excellent choice for you. The atmosphere is great, we had good service and the prices are good also.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can get a little crowded but great food!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Small restaurant/bar but great pub food -- it's worth the wait!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hammark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best, if only, true pub in downtown Scotia”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

O'Leary's is cozy and familiar with good beers on tap and tasty comfort pub food. There are a few tasty vegetarian options. O'Leary's is a great local haunt. Quiet enough to actually catch up with friends over drinks. And the free popcorn is pretty addicting.

If you are looking for pub food in Scotia, O'Leary'.s is worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Leary's Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing