We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Flanagans”

Flanagans Pub & Grill
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Schroon Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Randolph, New Jersey
1 review
“Fantastic Flanagans”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Every summer, I go on a multi-family vacation for one week at Schroon Lake. One day during the week we have "ladies day out." For the past 8 summers we have spent our day out at Flanagans over other bars in town. The food is fantastic and the staff are friendly. We spend most of the day at Flanagans because the atmosphere is so relaxed, and there is a jukebox, pool table and back deck to keep us entertained. I look forward to returning to Flanagans every summer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SL_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    44
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bavington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Neat place, fills the bill”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you're spending a week here like we did, you're bound to wind up here at least once. We weren't looking for Le Cordon Bleu so it met our expectations. Salad had some neat little peppers on it that I LOVED but everything else was run of the mill. Atmosphere was mixed bar and diner and a bit aged but, like I said, was what we expected in a seasonal town in the ADKs. As long as the beer is cold, I'm not writing anywhere off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Flavorless food - freezing environment ”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

On the way back from Montreal we stopped and tried this restaurant. Food was bland to say the least. The Irish nachos were flavorless- not a drop of seasoning. The chicken parm sandwich was the smallest I ever had, the bread was burned. The garlic Parmesan wings - supposed to be the best - left sooo much to be desired - NO flavor whatsoever. The temp was at 68 with an empty room, which felt like 58. When I asked if they could lower the air conditioning they said maybe. That never happened. Overall a disappointing experience.

Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaGirl_13, Owner at Flanagans Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are very sorry you had a bad experience with us. Being in business for over sixty years, our business has been built on great food and wonderful service. It's very important for us to know when there is an issue at the time, rather than later, so that it can be corrected. As far as the temperature, no one can afford to have the temperature at 68 degrees, we are lucky if we have them at 78. If it was as dead as you explained then you could have been very easily moved to a location that did not have an air vent. Without knowing there is a problem it is hard to correct it, so please, always notify the management and it could surprisingly make a hugh difference. Thank you, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“One of the better options with limited restaurant choices in Schroon”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Flanagans is a decent place to eat. I think that the daily specials are probably the way to go. For dinner, we all ordered the filet, green beans and baked potato. It was good and portions were appropriate - not too tiny or too huge. Pricing was good too, only $15.

We did have some dietary restrictions at our table (pro, wheat, eggs) and even though we were very clear with the waitress - and she confirmed that the meal was fine - the potato was actually twice-baked, and had bacon in it, and the red wine sauce on the filet had bacon in it too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmidwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaGirl_13, Owner at Flanagans Pub & Grill, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you very much for stopping in an visiting us here at Flanagans. I do apologize, however, for our server not being in tuned to your families dietary needs, though. Being able to help people choose the right menu item for each persons needs is part of their job and it seems they didn't meet either one of our exspections. I am happy you did enjoy your meals and do hope that you will visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schroon Lake NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Rueben's around”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of my favorite lunch sandwiches, so I've been searching for local "Best" Ruebens and Flannigans comes up on top!!! Of course they have other great food; never had a bad meal there actually. Lots of choices, nice Adirondack ambiance, and always service with a smile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdirondackBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaGirl_13, Owner at Flanagans Pub & Grill, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are very glad you have had good experiences and love our Reubens. We so appreciate customers like you and really hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanagans Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Flanagans Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing