We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly but Average Food”
Review of Bangkok Thai Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok Thai Bistro
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly but Average Food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I enjoyed the atmosphere and the people were most friendly. However my Tom Kha Gai soup was rather mediocre. It just didn't have the complexity or depth found in a good version of this Thai soup. The Thai calamari were fried to a crisp and didn't have any flavor beyond the slightly greasy coating. I wanted to really like this place, but it sadly let me down

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isthmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tres chic”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very trendy, interesting, but the food quality can vary. Some interesting things on the menu, worth a visit just to see, but not one of my personal favorites.

Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was good, martini select was a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I food was what I expected, martini select was a pleasant surprise. I often eat here when in town. Located a few blocks from The Parker and Procter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“thai awesome”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Old historic building that still holds its original German artwork inside. The food is wonderful and service is greast! Great beer selections and huge menu! A welcome change to Schenectady from the typical Italian hot spots.......one can only eat so much pasta.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deedeb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!! Great waitress!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Awesome Thai food and great waitress. I wish I could remember her name. Very helpfull with the menu and martini selections.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing