We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deli Ever”

Gershon's Deli & Caterers
Ranked #11 of 289 Restaurants in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Burnt Hills, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Deli Ever”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Been shoping at Gershons on and off since I was a youngone. They have the BEST salads, sandwiches, cold cuts ever.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The potato pancakes were very good and so was the whitefish salad! I really enjoyed the food from Gershon's and look forward to going back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Costanza12304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Deli in Capital District hands down”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Same quality food, great prices and staff since they catered my wedding in 1975! Quality of food has never varied and price has remained in line with everything else. Owners and managers are always accommodating. Worth the trip and great to stop for picnic lunches or to take on the road!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbrjpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Deli”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a small cramped deli with a few tables inside. Open air deck expands this capacity in summer. Ordering can be a bit chaotic when the place is busy but they try their best. Their hot brisket on a roll is my favourite. The popularity of the place speaks volumes as to the food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reuben lovers will like this restaurant!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a New York deli, and it's a fun place to visit. Our waitress was wonderful and kept us laughing! It was great to meet such an engaging personality!

The rye bread used for the reuben was delicious and the meat was good quality. I'd definitely order it again! Portions were generous, but it was too good to save any for leftovers.

The cole slaw was tasty. My husband thought the potato salad was heavy with the mayonnaise and thought it needed more onion, chopped celery, and perhaps either hard boiled egg or bacon to make it more interesting.

Sorbet desserts were refreshing, and we all agreed that the coconut sorbet was the winner! I wish we had an deli like this in our town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bookwormva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gershon's Deli & Caterers also viewed

 

Been to Gershon's Deli & Caterers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing