We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest, though you pay a little more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest, though you pay a little more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Hampton Inn, Schenectady. The staff were excellent. Rooms spacious and easy to feel comfortable in. Beds, as always, are Hampton's specialty and they did not disappoint. Breakfast is nice and the breakfast room is large and looks out onto State Street. Parking is a little bit of a concern as it is downtown, but we were actually able to park very near the door each day. They have a covered area where you can unload luggage before going to park. Prices were more than other hotels in the area, and to me that means you can expect more. Our stay could be called perfect other than these very minor hiccups: Only Pepsi products on property, eggs are reconstituted for breakfast, elevator came to our floor but would not leave it. They resolved this immediately with a call to the front desk. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    153
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
169
84
35
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed here several times whle on business. This is a large hotel squeezed into a tight downtown location. Room key gets you into the free back parking lot. Lobby/lounge/breakfast area is huge - a good place to bring in dinner and eat if you prefer not to eat in your room. Take a couple of cookies for dessert. Staff is efficient, check-in was literally abou a minute. This is one of the cleanest Hamptons I have ever stayed in and despite the city setting, very quiet. The AC unit was quiet also - a big issue with me. Breakfast was typical Hampton with mystery eggs, microwave bacon, but add a muffin, banana and yogurt and you're all set to take on the day. I did find this hote a little pricey but would recommend for business travel. Not great for families due to the location - and I would like to see Schenectady PD more visible out on Main Street. I have never seen a patrol car or beat officer during my stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was great, and the staff was friendly and very helpful with local info and directions.I was in town for a wedding, and if I ever come back to the area, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a quick 2 night business trip and was happy with this hotel that appeared to be newly remodeled or built. Very nice lobby, clean rooms and service oriented staff. I would definitely stay again. It was located in an area that was clearly being revitalized with several new places to eat and a theater.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Extremely welcoming and friendly staff. Larger than expected room. Hotel appeared to be very new and in an excellent location in downtown Schenectady. Parking secure access to many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our stay at the Hampton Inn in Schenectady, New York was very pleasant. The Hampton is our "go to" hotel because we never have to worry about whether it is clean, they always meet our expectations. The room was pricey but I guess you have to expect that in New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed on business and found the staff really friendly and the room very comfortable. The breakfast is pretty basic but there's free wifi and a small pool and fitness room. Several bars and restaurants very close by. My only real criticism would be that there was no bath tub in the room, only a shower, but the bathroom was large so not sure why there's no tub!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewlandsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schenectady
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
2.4 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#6 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#7 of 13 in Schenectady
3.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
9.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Property: Hampton Inn Schenectady
Address: 450 State St, Schenectady, NY 12305-2304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing