We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Proctor's Theater

Proctor's Theater
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Hartford, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

beautiful old theater which appeared to have been restored. Buddy Holly Story was well done and enjoyed by everyone in our party.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al66722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    75
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Slingerlands, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Lights Bad Lights 'GHOST'”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Little over the top with new technology in lighting. This wasn't one of my favorites at Proctor's but a night on the town for a reasonable price is always good.

Easy to get to Proctors and parking is fine. Easy to leave after the show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 396Foodtester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIlton Ny
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Broadway North”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

we love going to proctors, its gorgeous, well kept ans the shows are top notch and reasonably priced!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shows and movies”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I go to many shows and movies they have. Excellent service, and very helpful staff. It's also a great venue for live music too. Have seen some big name groups perform, such as Blood Sweat and Tears to name a few.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesTaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“History in the making at 60-year-old theater”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were privileged to be taken on a personal tour of the historic Proctor's Theater in Schenectady, NY. As a visitor from California, I was not there when anything was in production but they have a great list of upcoming shows in 2013-2014 (including "War Horse" in January 2014). But a delightful man named Bob opened the theater for us and gave us a tour complete with the theater's history and the renovation work that has been competed, including making the stage three times its original size.

Speaking of 'original,' Proctor's started out as a vaudeville theater all those many years ago. It is a staple of Schenectady history.

The entrance to the theater is reached through the Proctor Arcade, a block-long indoor shopping strip featuring mostly touristy goods.

I will definitely be planning my next visit to Schenectady to include an evening at the Proctor's Theater.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proctor's Theater also viewed

 

Been to Proctor's Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing