We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My favorite place to eat in Schenectady” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stockade Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stockade Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Schenectady
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place to eat in Schenectady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had dinner at the Stockade after a seeing the Thursday afternoon play at Proctor's. It was Valentine's Day but we were early. We had an excellent meal and excellent service. I enjoyed the French Onion soup. My companions ordered the Antipasto which was delicious also.
I had the free range Chicken for dinner which was excellent, topped with pesto and mozzarella
cheese. My companions had veal and the Sea Bass which they both thought were very good. The portion size was very good on everything, with enough left over to bring home. Service was excellent. The ambiance is cozy and there is a fire place.
There are 3 areas to eat. I like the main dining room and the lounge area is very nice, but I wouldn't want to eat in the over flow dining room, as it seems rather cold looking and not as cozy as the other two rooms.
I highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
16
39
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Voorheesville, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a gift certificate & went to dinner on a Sat. I was glad that we had a reservation. By the time we left most tables were filled. There was a wedding reception that night as well. I had scallops and my meal was mouth watering. The salad was good, service, atmosphere-all exceptional. So glad we went.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank looche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
204 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I heard about this inn from a friend and ended up staying here on business the following week. It's in a historic building, in a historic district. The rooms was spacious, every thing I wanted and a heck of a lot better than the chains. The ceilings are 10' high, my room had a chandelier and a nice view overlooking the street. There's even a billiard room here. My only issue was that the restaurant wasn't opened Sunday or Monday (at least during winter), but that was okay. Oh, there is a bar and that was open. I took the opportunity to try out a restaurant in the Italian district, very nice. The price was $100 per night and while it might have been a higher than a Red Roof, it was worth the minor extra for comfort and experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Stockade Inn and found the room to be adequate. The room was clean, the hallway quiet, and the wifi worked. The food was excellent. The Inn is conveinently located accross the river from Schenectady.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Auggiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Coming from over 2 hours away,we were looking for a place to spend the night after seeing a show at the Proctors Theater in order to avoid the late drive home. This one ranked tops on tripadvisor and did not disappoint. It perfectly met our need.
It is a historic building, recently renovated into an inn (2003, I believe) primarily serving as a popular restaurant (we would also recommend- we had Thanksgiving dinner there) with the guest rooms upstairs.
As another reviewer commented, the reception area was a small space to one side of the stairs.

We spent an hour pre-theater in the lounge having a very nice (and reasonably priced) cocktail and listening to an entertaining trio. We walked to the theater (10-15 minutes) and at no time felt concerned about our safety. Many people were out walking about.
In the morning we had a very enjoyable walk to the river and around the historic Stockade district.
Breakfast was very basic... yogurt, cereal, packaged pastries. But as I mentioned, we were planning to have our Thanksgiving dinner there at noon and were not interested in much that morning.
If there was one thing in particular that was a bit disappointing to us, it was that the lounge and entertainment closed down between 10 and 11, so we did not enjoy any post theater outing. The Inn itself was locked at the point we returned (about 11pm) and we buzzed to be let in. We were aware of this in advance however.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PittsfordMonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Charming, quirky hotel with lots of winding hallways and old-fashioned charm. We didn't have an advanced reservation but they were able to get us quickly settled in a nice room and offered us a break on the rack rate without needing to ask! The walls are a little thin, however - our neighbor was rather ill after spending too much time at the bar and we could hear his unfortunate stomach pangs quite clearly... not the hotel's fault, but if you're a light sleeper, perhaps ask for a room that's a bit more remote from the other guests! The nearby historic streets made for a lovely pre-dinner walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charmingmonsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam, Israel
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

the good - reception was good and helpfull, the room was spacious enough, it is not a suite just a hotel room.
It was very clean, comfortable beds, cosy bar with internet access (important right?)
Nice bathroom,
The hotel had a restaurant and If I were traveling with my wife would have definitely eaten there.
the not so good - it is an old hotel which was not fully turned into a modern hotel.
There is no reception desk, they sit under the stairs (really!).
Breakfast area is located in the same place where dinner is served which is essentially a bar.
No elevator so we had to carry our heavy suitcases up the narrow stairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShlomoYokneam_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schenectady
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
0.4 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#4 of 13 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 13 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#7 of 13 in Schenectady
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stockade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockade Inn

Property: The Stockade Inn
Address: 1 N Church St, Schenectady, NY 12305-1606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stockade Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stockade Inn is Schenectady's flagship boutique hotel. Offering a casual bar and lounge, complimentary wireless internet, continental breakfast, and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Stockade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stockade Hotel Schenectady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing