We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem”
Review of The Stockade Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stockade Inn
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Schenectady
buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Surfing for a place to stay for one night within a short drive of the "pricey" hotels and name chains near the Albany NY airport and Wolf Road complex, I happened upon the Stockade Inn about 20 minutes away. For less than $100, I had a generous sized corner 3rd floor room (no elevator) with a huge bathroom and plenty of towels The Inn is late 19th century vintage, converted from earlier uses as a bank and classic men's city club, and is well maintained with period decor and furnishings throughout. It is comfortable,quiet and well-located in the city's historic district which appears to undergoing substantial reclaimation and regentrification. There are numerous blocks of architectural gems in the immediate area . The Inn's acclaimed restaurant was closed the night I was there and I did not have breakfast in the morning. The staff was helpful. For an alternate lunch or dinner location within a few blocks--there's an Irish pub on Erie St by the AmTrack station/stop the name of which I've forgotten but it's easily found. When I'm passing through the area again, the Stockade Inn will be the place to stay!

  • Liked — location, value, quiet
  • Disliked — tap water could have been warmer
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EllenA720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    48
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
44
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Did not have reservations for an overnight stay-----dined there for a special occasion. Food was VERY,VERY good. Started with a crabcake which was excellent. Main entrees were flank steak & filet mignon. Portion for flank steak was large----had to bring some home. Filet mignon was very tender & tasty but cooked a little too much. I had ordered medium rare, received medium. Also, A plus for presentation of entrees. Waiter was not as professional as I would have expected. Also a fly flittering around most of the meal was more than a little distracting. Did not have dessert.I would definitely return with the hope of getting a different waiter and minus the fly.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank zxc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

The Stockade Inn mixes elegance and friendliness in just the right proportions. It's a really nice, solid nineteenth-century building, suggesting Schenectady's days of glory (built originally as a bank, for most of the past century it was Mohawk Club -- a gentleman's club of the old school, cigars and brandy and all); at the same time it's been recently remodeled with brand-new bathrooms and wonderful antiques. But it's not stuffy -- the staff were really down-to-earth and helpful in that unpretentious Upstate way. There's a very nice bar, and I hear the restaurant is excellent, but I didn't try it. This place is a little pricy, but it's worth it.

  • Liked — Historic building, well-appointed rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianinc-ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

The Stockade Inn serves excellent food in a comfortable, traditional setting. If you're looking for fine dining in Schenectady, this is your destination. The menu was varied without being unfocused (although there are no vegetarian options) and the food was all of good quality and very well-prepared. My steak was cooked exactly as I asked and the appetizers/sides were delicious. This is a great restaurant that is traditional without being stuffy. Also, although the portions are of good size, it's not one of those traditional places that serves quantity over quality. The quiet excellence of the food is the focus here, not gettting a pork chop the size of your head.

Helpful?
1 Thank tangledupinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotia NY
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2006

The Stockade Inn was very nice. the staff was very helpful and the food topped off the night. I diffently say its worth a try. especialy the lobster bake for dinner.

  • Liked — the clean room and staff on hand
  • Disliked — nothign
  • Tips/Secrets — if you want a nice dinner try to go between 7-8 and expect to be in the dinning room for a hour or more. the food is worth the wait
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bryess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

Located in the historic Stockade District of Schenectady, this Inn is really lovely. We stayed in one of the executive suites which was large and beautifully appointed. The four-poster canopy bed was beautiful, the bath sparkling clean. Although this is an old, historic building, there is a real feeling of luxury. I was able to see a number of other rooms, and they all appeared to be equally attractive and well-maintained. The housekeeping staff was excellent. We had a number of interactions, asking for one consideration or another, and they always seemed happy to oblige. The only disappointment was the continental breakfast. It was rather sparse, and service was inadequate. Hot coffee was not always immediately available, and clean-up wasn't satisfactory. That being said, I would certainly return to this hotel, and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brfootcontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schenectady hotels
0.4 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#4 of 14 in Schenectady
121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 14 in Schenectady
183 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 14 in Schenectady
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Schenectady at Mohawk Harbor
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#10 of 14 in Schenectady
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stockade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockade Inn

Property: The Stockade Inn
Address: 1 N Church St, Schenectady, NY 12305-1606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stockade Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stockade Inn is Schenectady's flagship boutique hotel. Offering a casual bar and lounge, complimentary wireless internet, continental breakfast, and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Stockade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stockade Hotel Schenectady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing