We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Morrette's King Steak House
Ranked #164 of 293 Restaurants in Schenectady
Price range: $0 - $8
Restaurant details
Auburn, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Folks were talking steak sandwiches here, not fila mignon steak. So yes it can and does get 5 Stars. It's the closest thing to a Lanzi's of Amsterdam NY steak sandwich I've had in 20+ years!

Big - Tasty - Inexpensive - Big and did I mention Tasty!

You aren't going to purchase this sandwich to eat and drive, unless someone else is doing the driving.

The only thing that sucks, is it's a 5+ hour drive from my home to them, or I WOULD be there more often.

The fries while hand-cut are to small for me liking, but then again, I was there for the sandwich not the fries.

It's an old, bright and a friendly staff make it a great place for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rexford, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of my favorite lunches!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Morrette's is NOT fine dining. But it IS one of those must visit places. I have to say that they offer one of the absolute best steak sandwiches that I've ever had...anywhere. I simply haven't been able to bring myself to order anything but.

The king steak sandwich smothered with grilled peppers, onions and sauce is just awesome. Throw in an order of bacon cheese fries and it's over-the-top. (My heart just screamed a bit.)

I personally love the atmosphere. Old school diner in desperate need of an update. But if it were updated everyone would complain that it lost its old school charm. Yes, it's greasy. Yes, everything probably has ten times more calories and fat than anyone should eat. But that will not keep me away.

As long as Morrette's is in business, I'll keep ordering the same thing and loving it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Favorite, Nothing Fancy”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me to this place for dinner along with my daughter.

They have a few selections on their menu besides the steak sandwiches, which they are famous for. The food are freshly made, simple, tasty & the portions are big. I had their sample plate & was very satisfied with my order. It has 2 meatballs, 2 flat sausages, shaved steaks, cooked onions (which I ordered extra), topped with their sauce & rolls on the side. I also ordered soda which has free refill. The service is excellent & the staff are friendly.

I am guessing that the room decorations & furniture are the original. The place is clean & simple, nothing fancy.

If you want something local, then this is for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacurn4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Meatballs good too...”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice quiet place portions are big and priced right. If u leave hungry it wouldn't be their fault. If you're a light eater share with someone or you'll be walking out with to go boxes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Steak Sandwich in the USA”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I've been eating Morrette's steak sandwiches since 1950, from when I was going to college in Schnectady. As alll of my five children grew up they were each introduced to the King Steak. I remember Mr. Morrette sitting ehind the bar, and Pat working at the grill. I live in North Carolina now, and my children have arranged to ship the steak, sauce and rolls to me.
I have just taken my youngest child to college in Rochester, and am planning my stop on Eire Blvd, Schnectady.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjwoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrette's King Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Morrette's King Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing