We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”

Central Park Rose Garden
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A simply gorgeous reprieve from the hustle & bustle of the city! The rose garden just gets better with time! Kudos to the volunteers who invest their time to the upkeep & planning for the future! The array of color is picturesque, & the variety & quality of roses is impressive, indeed! Stopped here 21 years ago in July to take pictures with my newborn daughter on the way home from the hospital, & the garden has only become more beautiful over the years. Nature at its best!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vaca577779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    22
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Relaxing Environment”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Crown Jewel of Schenectady's Central Park. We visit frequently. One of the TOP Rose Gardens in the country.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and free to visit, no parking”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rose garden is beautiful; in fact, people have weddings there because when it is in full bloom it is beautiful and fragrant, a welcome paradise in a not so nice area. There is a dog park next door where I have been bit and encountered some dangerous dogs, and the park is nice with some great play areas for the kids and also a nice walking/running path around the pond. Unfortunately, it is not in the best area and I have seen people dealing drugs and other unpleasantries while there, so I reccommend if you visit that you go with someone, stick to the beaten path, so to speak, and park in a visible spot. That being said, I have enjoyed sitting in the rose garden and have not been bothered if I stayed just inside of the rose garden. The only downside is that there is not parking directly outside of it, so you have to walk by the dog park or through the park to get there, unless you find parking on a side street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MBRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really a gem in an unexpected location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rose garden has undergone a huge transformation over the last several years as the result of a dedicated group of volunteers. It's absolutely beautiful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KristinL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderfully beautiful garden”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Rose Garden is tended to by volunteers, who offer tending, loving care to the many varieties of roses. It is a lovely place to have a wedding, with a little stone bridge. I cannot say enough about this crown jewel in Schenectady's Central Park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Park Rose Garden also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing