We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order the lamb dish”
Review of Tara Kitchen

Tara Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 288 Restaurants in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't order the lamb dish”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stopped in for dinner a few weeks ago with a friend and we both ordered one of the lamb dishes. It (the lamb) was so tough, it was not chewable.
We told the waiter and he talked to the chef (owner) and I saw her shake her head and make a face (like oh brother).
We will never go back there.
They didn't offer to give us any kind of a discount either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 477BarbaraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    45
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
348 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A candidate for Diners, Drive-ins and Dives?”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Crosby, Hope, and Lamour may not have stopped here on their Road to Morocco, but I'm sure they would have enjoyed the food if they had. Our lunch trio of Arabian knights planned to meet here and introduce our palates to the flavors and spices of this North African country.

The small narrow front of the restaurant has a low counter with stools on the left, and small duce tables to the right. A few steps at the rear lead up to a raised dining area with maybe six four-tops. A doorway exiting this dining area leads to what could be a planned outdoor deck for future good weather dining.

While I waited on one of the stools for my dining companions to arrive, the chef suggested to the waitress that I be given some tea. A very small glass was provided with a blend of green tea, mint and honey. It was not too sweet and the perfect beverage after a cool, drizzling, and damp walk from Proctor's.

Between the three of us, from the lunch menu we ordered Spicy Harrisa and Pita Bread ($3) and Potato Patties with Mixed Vegetables ($3) as appetizers. For entrees we had Grilled Ground Lamb Kabob ($10), Ground Lamb Meatballs in tomato sauce with a poached egg ($10), and a Pita Pizza with spinach, preserved lemons, and green olives ($6).

The harrisa had just the right amount of spiciness for us with its red roasted peppers, garlic, coriander, and olive oil. The pita that accompanied it was freshly grilled and quartered for dipping. An excellent start to our meals.

The potato patties were loosely formed with corn and carrots and fried on one side. Another nice meal starter, but since our two lamb dishes also had potatoes we probably should have tried something different.

Since we tried each other's entree, I would have to say it would be difficult for me to choose a favorite. There was a noticeable difference between the lamb in the kabob and the lamb meatballs. The meatballs contained a binder making them less dense than the grilled kabob, but both had wonderful flavor and I'd be happy to order either one on another visit. Both of these dishes were served with a rice pilaf and the potatoes already mentioned. The tomato sauce and poached egg with the meatballs, however, added a total additional dimension of taste, texture and flavor.

The pita pizza is obviously the size of your basic pita bread. While I enjoyed the combination of spinach, lemon and green olives, it probably should be considered more as an appetizer than as an entree unless you are a light eater.

Service was excellent. Not having experienced Moroccan food before we had lots of questions. Our server was able to answer many and sought out the answers to the ones that she was not familiar with. She also kept our tea glasses filled and checked on us to see that everything was ok. They do have a beer and wine license but we didn't try either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Moroccan home cooking”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went Tara Kitchen for the first time and loved the food. We did not have a reservation (recommended ). We ate at the bar and got to watch the action on the grill. Among restaurants in schenectady, definitely top 3.
In capital district top ten for food. Charming hosts, interesting food, and pleasant waiter. Not fine dining, but a great meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 121617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delicious and lovely lunch”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Enjoyed all of our dishes: eggplant dip, chickpea tangine, spinach and lentils and chicken with apricot and plum marinade. The family that runs this establishment is very kind and kept refilling our tea cups with amazing green tea with mint and honey. Yum!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delish!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Yummy, homemade (Mom in the kitchen). Nice little bar . Love the tagine preparation - what a delightful surpise. Make a reservation though...the restaurant is small w/ a sweet little bar. A Schenectady gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajacobflu2ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tara Kitchen also viewed

 
Schenectady, NY
 

Been to Tara Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing