We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Union Cafe

Union Cafe
Ranked #22 of 283 Restaurants in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This cafe opened in 2012
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and excellent ”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Nice lunch on the porch. Excellent souvlaki platter and Mediterranean wrap. Service was the nicest - wait staff and host very inviting and friendly, even the clearly very busy chef gave me a big smile and greeting when I walked by on my way from the rest room. Good customer service is so refreshing!

Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Genuinely "Nice" Staff and Genuinely Great Food!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The word "nice" can be construed as being trite, but every server we encountered at the Union Cafe was someone any restaurant would love to have on board and all appeared to be very "nice"! The same can be said for all the diners in our proximity --- nice people! We were delighted to meet our server, Julia, who had been employed for one day. She was competent and congenial. Our omelets and eggplant fries were delicious. The music was upbeat but not loud or distracting from conversation. Our only regret is that we live 3+ hours away. But rest assured that whenever we are in the area the Union Cafe will be a prime destination!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1976Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
249 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“My favorite breakfast spot around”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I get the same thing every time I come here: Sausage, egg, and cheese breakfast sandwich.. it's the best. Sometimes I will get an order of their eggplant fries, which are also amazing (and it comes with tzaziki for dipping).

I think the best part of this place is the owner, Hector. I have never come here without him coming to my table and shaking my hand and the hand of whoever is with me. He is the friendliest guy who makes every customer feel welcome. You can tell he takes a lot of pride in what he does.

The staff is also very friendly and they have a great patio for outdoor eating. 1000x better than Perrecas.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPHGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent gyro and eggplant fries”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We've eaten at Union St. Café several times. Their front porch is great on a sunny day and we took advantage of it. I love how the owner/host greets you and makes you feel genuinely welcome. Several folks came in just before closing (2:00 pm) and they were greeted with the same hospitable manner as we were.
The food hit the spot. My lamb and beef gyro was fresh, moist, the wrapper was perfect...oh wow. Perfect. My husband loved his Greek salad and I picked at it too. Everything in it was super fresh and carefully prepared.
But the hit was my eggplant fries. I've never had these before..so addictive we polished them off before we touched our entrees. Light, crispy, batter dipped and not at all greasy. So good.
Even the iced tea was bold and good. Service was just what we needed. It's all clean and cheerful. I love it and am glad to see it busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathleenCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another fine visit!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went to the Union Cafe, second or third time. Had a very good lunch, soup excellent and the food great. Warmly greeted and served. The cost for lunch a little high, but the food is above and beyond.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ocean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Union Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing