We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Just Nasty”
Review of Stardust Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stardust Motor Inn
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Schenectady
Conway, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nasty Just Nasty”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

the pictures is not what you get...the sheets were nasty, old beds that have boards under them. it was more like a crack hotel...i would rather camped in the wood with a bear than stay there again!!!

Room Tip: do not stay here, run for your life
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ernest b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    1
    11
See reviews for
3
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

this place is so disgustingly dirty! there are bed bugs and my family member got a staph infection as a result. they never change the sheets, the mattresses are filthy and stained as is the carpet. the floors are filthy, the tub bottom is black, the toilets are horrendous! He would never have stayed but he was travelling for work and this is where the company book his room.
He complained to the staff and nothing was ever done. His room wasnt cleaned, the sheets were never changed, nothing....They did change his room when he showed them the multiple bites he had, but the next room was as bad as the first!
The owner said "go ahead" when I went to the office to raise cain, I told her I was turning her into the health dept. disgusting people run this filthy bed bug/staph infected place!

Room Tip: there arent any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ilikecleanmotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Schenectady hotels

plymouth pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

was not worth the money for a so called jacuzzi suite.Room was filthy.Bed had peoples names carved into it.Dirty towels under bathroom sink.Bathroom door would not close. towels were thin and stained.No housekeeping service.Its a good thing we brought our own blankets and pillows cuz we used them.also we brught clorox cleanup and we had to disinfect the room before we used anything..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ammuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LC TN
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Personally I love this place. Very comfortable beds. First class Wi Fi service, friendly staff (for NYS) Great location right off NYS Thruway. Very reasonale price. The rooms are clean and large . The location is almosr rural and VERY safe which is more than I can say for the Econolodge and the Days Inn in SCHDY.There is a nice mini fridge and microwave in each room. Smokers are welcome. There are even rooms available with hot tubs. Great Heating and AC old style units that really work, not like you have in newer hotels that dont work worth a damn.
but it is not for everyone. The Motel is a property built in 1962, and shows its age The lobby is a bit of a put off. And bring your own shampoo and hair dryer. The funishings are old but very useable with a desk and a table in the room.
If you need to stay in SCHDY and its coming out of your own pocket this is the best Motel available for te price..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstarr1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I chose this hotel on a business trip to save our organization a little money (we work for a small nonprofit). Our conference was in Schenectady, and the motel was easy to get to from the highway, only about a 8-minute drive. We stayed two nights. The hotel was built in the 1960s, and still had much of its vintage signage with little exterior updating.

The rates were very reasonable, but as expected the amenities were not substantial. The motel provided soap, clean towels, and washcloths, but little else. I was hoping for an iron, and my husband found he had forgotten his razor, but we made other arrangements and it worked out fine. The shower left a little to be desired, as the water pressure was nil, but we dealt with it. Our room key didn't work the first time, but the front desk clerk came out to our room to let us in himself and the problem was fixed by the time we left for the evening and returned. Also, our phone was not working, which didn't really bother us as we used our cell phones and the front desk was only a short walk away. The only real issue I had is that the bedspread smelled just slightly like smoke (we were in a non-smoking room) and vaguely of not being laundered. Fortunately, the sheets underneath were clean, so I avoided the bedspread as much as possible. You may also want to bring additional pillows, as we only had 3 for our king-sized bed.

That said, the staff that we dealt with were friendly, and our room was clean. They did offer coffee and danishes/honey buns for light continental fare in the morning, but be sure to get there early for the best selection :}, as I think that many of the guests were construction workers and get an early start. The wireless internet works best when near a window, but it does work. And it was pretty quiet, despite being right off the highway. On the whole, a reasonable room for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I almost passed on this place because of the reviews. But, The weekend was going to be expensive enough already, I figured why not? I haven't stayed in a dive in a long time. I was pleasantly surprised!! Comfortable bed and a clean room. Easy to get on and off I-90 and I-890. Bring your own shampoo, soap and conditioner. You may need to remind them that a king is the really, big bed. But, like I said, whataya want for $50?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady NY
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I conduct my consulting business from here and host business associates as guests regularly. My guests have never complained..
The place is clean: I daily watch the proficient housekeeping staff scour vacated rooms.
So I say again: NICE PLACE, NICE PRICE!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinGardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schenectady hotels
1.9 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 15 in Schenectady
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#10 of 15 in Schenectady
39 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#8 of 15 in Schenectady
118 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Schenectady
122 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Schenectady at Mohawk Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Motor Inn

Property: Stardust Motor Inn
Address: 2700 Curry Road, Off Exit 25 N.Y. Thruway, Schenectady, NY 12303-3461
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stardust Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Stardust Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stardust Hotel Schenectady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing