We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee, courteous service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambition Bistro

Ambition Bistro
Ranked #10 of 283 Restaurants in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ambition is a funky urban bistro. We offer great foods, drinks and desserts in a very unique atmosphere of nostalgia Americana. We at Ambition love food, music and Hollywood and that's who we invite in and we invite you too!
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great coffee, courteous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hit this place up for coffee one morning. Very good latte, very nice staff and great space! I love how it was completely unpretentious!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located on on the pedestrian only portion of Jay Street, this restaurant has a vast sandwich menu. It was difficult to make a choice, so my son and I swapped halves. My sandwich was on focaccia, and his was on a pretzel roll. We thoroughly enjoyed both. The restaurant has a comfortable coffee house atmosphere, which is a welcome change from fast food places.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PattyR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Their pancakes and french toast are good. The service is pretty good also.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fun Décor with Good Food and Good Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We ate lunch here on a Sunday after thoroughly enjoying the farmers market 1/2-block away. Good, friendly service. Good food. Great coffee. The main room is surprisingly narrow, but the booths are quite comfortable and spacious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Ambition Cafe is THE place to eat on Jay St!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I *love* going to the Ambition Cafe before attending a play or entertainment at Proctor's or SLOC. Last night we were going to see the opening night of "Memphis" and they had a "Memphis BBQ" sandwich. The play was brilliant and the sandwich was pretty darn good too! Other visits I've had the Crabby Marc, the Gigi. All are very good. I love this place and last night we were unable to have their *wonderful* bread pudding for dessert, as we had waited a long time to get our entrees, ok, and we got lost and came late. Eric, our server, was full of pizzazz and positive energy, but he was unable to get us our food in a timely manner.

Hopefully, next time we go I can get bread pudding and by the way, you probably want to share it, as it's HUUUUGE!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anyanwubutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambition Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ambition Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing