We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food , good atmosphere, good time”

CHAT American Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
CHAT American Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 104 Restaurants in Scarsdale
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Chase Rd
Transit: Scarsdale Station off the Harlem Line 1/2 block from our location.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good food , good atmosphere, good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Chat has been a great addition to the village of Scarsdale . the menu has a nice variety
but the best part is the atmosphere . sitting outside is very enjoyable
you can go there with family or friends

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel61565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    73
    27
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always enjoy a good Chat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I always enjoy Chat. The service is good, like the menu selections and I find it so much better than Chat 19 in Larchmont! Love to sit outside when the weather is nice. I enjoy the burgers and fish dishes, as well as the mac n cheese side! never had desert there, didn't entice me with selections. I would have desert in the Pastisere Salzberg next door! I enjoyed a sunday brunch ther a few weeks ago, they had a wonderful basket of mini muffins scones etc.... yummy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mego58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food isn't spectacular, but it's solidly good, and there are many options, so it can accommodate a crowd of folks with different food tastes. The outdoor patio is nice In the summer. The environment is attractive, and service typically good. Near Scarsdale train station in the village.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MackGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere & Very Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Chat is a great place to go enjoy lunch or dinner. As a matter of fact, you'll get a break on the prices a bit if you get there during lunch time hours. This is a great place to go for a nice meal with very attentive and friendly service. The food is always tasty and the atmosphere is way more interesting that other restaurants in the area.
Chat has a fun vibe with large photos of Hollywood celebs from past eras and a cool, somewhat retro (in a good way) style. You'll see that in the small touches such as the frosted glass bathroom doors.
This can be a great place for an early dinner on the weekend before it gets busier and it's a nice Saturday night out too with an active, colorful bar scene and great dinner service. The sliced steak with port wine sauce is great, along with Chat's mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. That's one of my favorites. The baby back ribs are just right and the shrimp with linguini is really good too. You get a real quality meal for your money and the price is right. If the time of year is right, it's worth eating in the outdoor area too. It's clean and comfortable and there wasn't any problem with flying insects. Even inside, the restaurant has a nice open-air feeling because the side doors are, in fact open, and a nice breeze mixes with the air conditioning. Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill
Level Contributor
172 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We ate here at brunch for a family function. There were about 12 of us. The menu is a nice variety of choices nothing overly fancy or pretentious. They also have a beautiful outside patio overlooking the park across the street. My favorite thing is that they brought out a variety of breads and they also served all of us at the same time. I thought the food was well-priced.

Everyone enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayflower57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHAT American Grill also viewed

Scarsdale, Westchester County
Scarsdale, Westchester County
 
Scarsdale, Westchester County
Scarsdale, Westchester County
 

Been to CHAT American Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing