We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, over zealous staff”

Popei's Clam Bar & Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 54 Restaurants in Sayville
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, over zealous staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The food was delicious and our waitress, Sarah, was excellent. The dining room assistants however need to be trained. Within 10 minutes of sitting down and being served with a basket of bread, the bus boy asked us if we were done with the bread (we hadn't even touched it yet). Other staff were trying to take parmesan, utensils, etc. mid-way through our meal.

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    6
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food is very good. Bring your appetite. Great drink specials.You won't be sorry
Takeout is available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Place is only as good as its manager, well this place should be the dumps with the trash you see and hear her do”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was completely turned off by how the manager spoke to a certain employees, and then how she would talk behind the persons back with other employees . Unprofessional conduct and management. Not the first time ive seen her do this but this was just uncalled for. Good help wont stay here because it so unprofessional, servers come and go but the crappy ones stay. Food good but with poor service(only 2 waitress are great) not worth the money. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL MANAGER, AND A COUPLE SERVERS. They should be thrown out like the DIGUSTING TRASH they are. Shame because place would be better with proper managment.never going back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yngbld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the seafood but otherwise very good.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was in town on business and asked some coworkers where the best informal seafood restaurant was in the area and they recommended here. I sat at the bar and ordered a salad, Surf and Turf (whole lobster and a sirloin steak) which comes with potato and vegetable. The portions of all of them were quite large and really could have easily fed two hungry people. The salad was very good, mashed potatoes and vegetable were good, the steak was pretty tasty. The only disappointment was the lobster....the main reason I came here! It was tough and tasteless. Either it had been frozen too long and or boiled too long but even the melted butter (which I had to request since it didn't come with it) didn't help much with the taste. I suppose this could have been a fluke and I wouldn't rule out giving them another try but I was pretty disappointed that the only thing I didn't like was the very thing they are supposed to specialize in! The bartender was very nice and attentive but she seemed to be struggling with the kitchen staff to get things right...not just with my order but for others eating at the bar too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“New favorite place!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent all around! Food was fresh and tasty! Service was excellent! So much food...come hungry! It's our new favourite restaurant! Everyone in our party was pleased.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drebeehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popei's Clam Bar & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Sayville, Long Island
Bayport, Long Island
 
Blue Point, Long Island
West Sayville, Long Island
 
West Sayville, Long Island
Brookhaven, Long Island
 

Been to Popei's Clam Bar & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing