We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well served, good food, well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro 25

Bistro 25
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Sayville
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Neck, New York, United States
Level Contributor
266 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well served, good food, well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

It's about to snow and not wanting to drive all the way to Southampton from Great Neck we found this really lovely spot about 1/2 way out. The menu is fairly extensive and very well priced. The staff did an excellent job of making us feel welcome and served us well.

It's now on my short list of places to return to.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    8
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Local find, Chef owned. Youthful excellent staff. Never have had a disappointing meal.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food-good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a casual restaurant with a sparsely decorated but neat dining room. The food is moderately priced and quite good, with very nice presentation. The main wine list has approximately 25 bottles, each priced at $25. A separate group of about 7 wines is slightly more expensive. The menu, while not huge, is diverse and can cover most tastes. My seafood paella was excellent. The restaurant provides very good value for the money.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty meal during restaurant week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Bistro 25 on a Sunday night during Long Island restaurant week. As we walked in we were warmly greeted by an older gentleman who we assumed was the owner (or at least a manager). After we were seated he was very friendly and helpful in answering our questions and pointing out his favorite items on the menu. The waitstaff were kind and attentive but not overbearing.

We ordered from the LI restaurant week 3 course menu. For appetizers we had the butternut bisque and mussels, these were the stars of the evening, my girlfriend nearly licked the bisque bowl clean and I loved the mussels (particularly the broth that came with them). For the main course we had the sauerbraten (a beef dish with potato pancakes and braised cabbage) and the pan roasted salmon. This course was good, the beef was very tender and flavorful and the salmon was cooked properly. For dessert we had the carrot cake bread pudding and mango sorbet. These were a solid way to finish a nice meal.

Overall we had a great experience and will return for another meal. We experienced none of the service issues that other reviewers have mentioned but dined early on a Sunday evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank js0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average..overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went recently with my daughter, tough to find much on the menu that might fill a person. Settled for the salmon on some bed of chow mein noodles? Unfortunately the noodles were cold and in some sauce they reminded me of saurkraut.The size of the Salmon made me question what I was going to eat later. The size of the salman was not reflective of the price.
Decor like all Long Island restaurants was trying to recapyure an ancient dining room,trying, not succeeding. The staff was fine but I will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrodoFlorida_U_S_A_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 25 also viewed

Sayville, Long Island
Sayville, Long Island
 
Sayville, Long Island
 

Been to Bistro 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing